It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a range of different tools or criteria you can use for evaluating sources and which one you use depends on the type of information. Use the menu on the left side to navigate to the type of infomration you need to evaluate and they'll be suggestions of what tools are avialable to help you.
Tools suggested throughout this guide include:
The CRAP evaulation tool will help you consider if your source is appropiate for your need. It uses the following four things:
The SIFT Method o the Four Moves. This tool describes four things to do when looking at a source: Stop, Investigate the source, Find better coverage and Trace claims, quotes and media to the original context.
A collection of more than 500 eBooks published by the ALA, and available for reading or chapter-download in the IGLibrary platform.
The link here takes you to a list of subject categories (Book Industry Standards and Communications categories), plus a search box where you can search by title, full-text, author, or ISBN.
If you change to the Show all titles tab, you get a browse list of all titles, but also tabs for BISAC Category, Advanced Search, Search history, Recent view and others.
Once at a book in your results list you can Read, Read on App, or Add to saved list. Reading online gives you options to read directly on the screen or via the iViewer, and to download pages, chapters, or sections.
To read on the app you need to set up a personal account. The app is available in Android or iOS.
For help in using this resource, go to the IG Publishing User Guide.
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.
Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.
The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.
If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.
If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.
Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
An EBSCOhost database which covers librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, and includes much in full-text.
This database is a key international database for library and information science. It covers more than 700 journals, plus books, research reports and conference proceedings.
Importantly, the database contains full text for more than 330 journals - including the Australian Library Journal, Australian Academic & Research Libraries, and Incite - and includes nearly a dozen full-text monographs.
A ProQuest database of around 900 journals, including more than 600 in full-text. This database can, and probably should, be used in conjunction with ERIC (ProQuest version).
ProQuest Education Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform.
Subject coverage includes not only primary, secondary, and higher education, but also special needs education, home schooling, adult education, teacher education, and other related topics.
Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. Other education-related databases in ProQuest include the important education database, ERIC. You can, and probably should search ProQuest Education Journals and ERIC together, to exploit the advantages of each.
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.
Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.
Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.
The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
A blog by the School Libraries Association of Victoria (SLAV) and the State Library of Victoria (SLV). Its aim is to encourage teacher librarians and educators to actively engage with ICT, to share tools and experiences, to network on a global scale, and to embrace dynamic teaching and learning opportunities.
Australian Teacher Librarian Network is a community of teacher librarians and information professionals used to share latest developments, issues and initiatives in teacher librarianship and school libraries in Australia
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.