There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

BioOne is a global not-for-profit collaboration which brings together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

This entirely full-text collection of more than 150 journals includes some of the most important academic society journals in their respective disciplines.

When you first log in, you will be in the Advanced Search screen, but you can also browse the database by title, publisher, or collection. (There are 3 "collections" - BioOne.1, BioOne.2, and Open Access. The first two collections represent packages of journals as added to the database, while the third is a small collection of open access journals.)

If you set up your own profile, you can make use of the My BioOne features, which include saved searches, search alerts, and lists of favourite journals.

Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.

The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.

Updating is weekly.

You can access the other CAB Abstracts packages from the Ovid databases menu.

This resource is a collection of about 30 entirely full-text Australian journals published by CSIRO Publishing. The website has a tab for, and lists of, books and CDs, but it is the journals to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes, and which are available in full-text. These cover a broad range of scientific disciplines including mainly agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.

The collection can be searched or browsed. Searching can be limited to a journal or a number of journals. The searching functionality is not very sophisticated, and users are advised to check the Search hints link which is available on the Advanced Search screen. Some users prefer to use another index, such as Web of Science Core Collection or Scopus as a searching tool, and then use the Find it links to link to the full-text within CSIRO Electronic Journals.

Coverage varies with title, but in some cases extends back to the early 1900s. All articles are available in PDF format.

ProQuest Science & Technology Databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 19 databases with science-and-technology-related material. Some of these databases are the science-and-technology subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. Other databases - eg. SciTech Premium Collection - are collections of databases.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find a copy links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Agriculture Database
* Biological Science Database
* Computer Science Database
* Environmental Science Database
* GeoRef - note: the two databases in this collection do not contain full-text material
* Materials Science Database
* Research Library: Science & Technology 
* Science Database
* SciTech Premium Collection - note: a collection of subsidiary databases
* Telecommunications Database.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination.

Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.

Until 1994, Water Resources Abstracts was produced by the United States Geological Survey, when it was generally known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts. Since that time, Water Resources Abstracts has been produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, which broadened the scope by including more material published outside the U.S.A.

The link here takes you into ProQuest's Environmental Science Index. By default, your search will be limited to Water Resources Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.

There are no direct links to full-text, but you can use the "Find a copy" links to search for the full item in other databases.

For a related database with much full-text content, try ProQuest's Environmental Science Database.

For a related database with greater coverage of the marine and biological environment, try ProQuest's ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts.

Details of the 6 databases are:
* Web of Science Core Collection - a collection of 5 citation indexes and 2 chemical indexes, where you can, amongst other things, find citing articles (i.e. articles that have cited a specific reference);
* Current Contents Connect - a current awareness product which includes tables of contents and citations from journals from all disciplines;
* KCI-Korean Journal Database - features research emanating from South Korea, and covers about 2,000 scholarly journals;
* MEDLINE - the well-known international health and medicine database, produced by the (US) National Library of Medicine;
* Russian Science Citation Index - covers Russian research in fields such as engineering, materials science, and ecology, with more than 600 journals indexed;
* SciELO Citation Index (Scientific Electronic Library Online) - a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals, which includes regional journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.

These databases can be searched together ("All Databases", which is the default) or individually. To change to a single database, click on the drop-down arrow beside All Databases in the main tab-bar of the Web of Science screen.

Most of the articles in this databases don't have the full-text attached, but you can use the Find it button, situated beneath each record, to locate the full-text in another online database or in a campus library print holding.