CSU requirements for a thesis
The thesis represents the main outcome of your research. It is assessed by examiners to determine whether you are awarded the degree for which you have studied.
The research office has developed an HDR guide.
Finding a CSU thesis
CSU theses are held by the Library. Electronic copies of theses from 2009 onwards are available in the Charles Sturt University Research Output (CRO) repository as PDFs.
Charles Sturt University theses can be found by doing an Advanced Primo Search:
Older ‘print only’ theses held by the Library can found using the Advanced Search option in Primo Search:
- Select Advanced Search
- Select Search Profile = Books, journals, DVDs & more
- Select Any field and as a phrase enter charles sturt university
- Select Material Type = Theses
- Click Search.
- Print theses must be used in the library only
- If a thesis is held at another Charles Sturt Campus Library, you can ask for it to be sent to you at your local Charles Sturt Campus Library
Finding Australian Theses
The National Library of Australia’s Trove database contains Australian university theses. Some theses are available only in print, others are available online in digital format.
- Ensure the Format in the left column is highlighted as Theses
- Enter additional search terms
- Click on Search button
- Use Refine your results to limit to theses available Online or Freely available.
Finding International Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database
Doctoral and Masters theses abstracts from US, European, British, and Irish graduate schools and universities, plus many available in full-text
- British Library Electronic Digital Thesis Online Service (EThOS)
Theses and dissertations produced by UK Higher Education Institutes
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Provides links to theses databases sorted by country
- Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)
Theses and dissertations from more than 130 institutions. TREN includes conference papers from several academic societies.
- Theses Canada
Theses and dissertations from Canadian higher education institutions.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations.
Searchable database of Open Access research theses from over 1100 research institutions.
Requesting Theses from other institutions
Some services, such as the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database allow users to purchase copies.
Alternatively, the library can locate and purchase a copy of a thesis on your behalf. Charges apply and are based on the rates outlined in the Australian ILRS Code but may vary according to the individual library.
Interlibrary Loans staff will provide a quote before proceeding with the request. Use the ILL Request link in Primo Search to submit a request.
Suggest that the Library purchase a thesis
Recommend a title for purchase using the Suggest New Materials form.
Thesis or dissertation?
The University distinguishes between a thesis and a dissertation. The CSU Faculty of Science, Information for honours students booklet, p. 8 states that:
A thesis is a written document resulting from research that comprises more than fifty percent of a study program and is, hence, the principal basis of assessment for award. If less than fifty percent of a study program is based on research, the resultant document is referred to as a dissertation. .... the University officially refers to all Honours research documents as 'dissertations', irrespective of the research or assessment components they represent....