Data sharing

Share your data!

Once you decide to share your data, there are some data considerations that you need to prepare for, like:

which file formats to use to ensure long term access,
data documentation and metadata,
ownership and privacy issues with regards to copyright, intellectual property, and research participant confidentiality (sensitive data).

Look for a data repository that would be appropriate for your area of research, to allow your datasets to be freely shared.

Why share your data?

It may be required by certain publishers or funding agencies but it opens up research, allows data reuse for new discoveries, and increases your research impact by making it citable by other researchers.

Post-Research and Finalising Data Collections

At the end of the project, it is important to organise the data into collections.

Collections within a project may differ by:

Date range of raw data
Data to support an open access publication
De-identified data that may be made 'open' or restricted 'by request'
Confidential or sensitive data available to the research group only

Finalise your data collections:

Tidy up folders and file names
Include all supporting documents, files, software, notes etc.
Update your RDM plan with your intentions for long-term storage, including embargo period, length of storage
Define access (eg. open, restricted) and any licensing conditions
Create / update the project and collection level metadata
If an open collection, contact the library about creating a permanent link to the data (digital object identifier or DOI) that can be cited
Move data collections to a Charles Sturt approved Archive storage
Advertise the data set e.g. Research Data Australia

See Publish and Reuse for further information.

Data repositories

Look in these data repositories to find archived and preserved data sets or as a place to share your own data:

Figshare
A web-based interface designed for academic research data management and research data dissemination. Free accounts available (with limits).
Mendeley Data
A free and secure cloud-based communal repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are.
CRO
Charles Sturt's Research Repository.
Data.gov.au
Public datasets from many Australian government agencies.
Atlas of Living Australia
A collaborative aggregator of biodiversity knowledge.
Australian Ocean Data Network
Interactive maps, geospatial datasets, satellite imagery. This is a primary access point for the Australian marine community.
CSIRO Data Access Portal
Data published by CSIRO, across a range of disciplines.
Australian National Map
An Australian government sponsored portal of government spacial data.
ATSIDA
The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive works closely with researchers to support the management and archiving of research data.

Look for a repository to share your data that:

Stores the data safely
Makes the data findable
Describes the data appropriately (metadata)
Adds the licencing information

For more options, check out these registries or discovery services to find more repositiories: re3data.org, FAIRsharing.org, OpenDOAR and Research Data Australia.

Bureau of Meteorology, Climate Data Online
Climate Data Online provides access to a range of statistics, recent weather observations and climate data from the Australian Data Archive for Meteorology, a database which holds weather observations dating back to the mid 1800s for some sites

Library

Research Data Management at Charles Sturt: Share and Disseminate

Data sharing

Why share your data?

Post-Research and Finalising Data Collections

Data repositories