Library Guides: Records and Archives Management: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science by Levine-Clark, M.
Publication Date: 2013
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book by Prytherch, R.
Publication Date: 2016

Glossary of Recordkeeping Terms | NSW Government State Archives & Records
This is a partial list of the terms & definitions used by the NSW public sector in record keeping and record management.

Quick links

eBook collections

American Library Association eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 eBooks published by the ALA, and available for reading or chapter-download in the IGLibrary platform.
The link here takes you to a list of subject categories (Book Industry Standards and Communications categories), plus a search box where you can search by title, full-text, author, or ISBN.

If you change to the Show all titles tab, you get a browse list of all titles, but also tabs for BISAC Category, Advanced Search, Search history, Recent view and others.

Once at a book in your results list you can Read, Read on App, or Add to saved list. Reading online gives you options to read directly on the screen or via the iViewer, and to download pages, chapters, or sections.

To read on the app you need to set up a personal account. The app is available in Android or iOS.

For help in using this resource, go to the IG Publishing User Guide.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
IGI Global / InfoSci-Books This link opens in a new window
IGI Global / Info Sci-Books is a research collection of thousands of scholarly works on information technology and computer science. The collection is mainly eBooks but also includes more than 150 eJournals. Results are available at chapter/article level.
IGI Global is a publisher of books, journals, and other materials in the areas of education, social science, library science, healthcare, business, environmental science, public administration, computer science, and engineering.

The collection here includes both eBooks (InfoSci-Books), and eJournals (InfoSci-Journals), and also a small collection of eBooks on library science (Library Information Science). These are all options in the Research Collections panel.

The default screen is the list of eBooks but you can change to the list of eJournals, or you can choose to search or browse across the whole database. To do this, click on Database Search in the E-Database Tools panel.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database of citations, article summaries, and full-text articles which covers computing and technology and includes more than 1000 full-text periodicals.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) "covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines". It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2100 publications, including academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources.

Searchable cited references are included for key journals.

Subjects covered include: engineering disciplines; computer theory & systems; and the impact of, and the social and professional context of, new technologies.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts with Full text This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database which covers librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, and includes much in full-text.
This database is a key international database for library and information science. It covers more than 700 journals, plus books, research reports and conference proceedings.

Importantly, the database contains full text for more than 330 journals - including the Australian Library Journal, Australian Academic & Research Libraries, and Incite - and includes nearly a dozen full-text monographs.

Coverage extends as far back as the mid-1960s.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online provides online full-text access to the hundreds of journals published by SAGE. These journals are in the subject areas of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Charles Sturt staff and students have some full-text access to most of the journals in this database. In Advanced Search, you can limit your search to Only content I have full access to (or to Open access content only). In your results list, full-text articles are marked with a green open-padlock icon.

You can search within individual journal titles or across the whole database, and browse journals by title, discipline or subject. The 4 disciplines are Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering, and Social Science & Humanities, and each discipline has a number of subjects.

You can use My Tools to create alerts, save citations and searches, and set up "My Favourite Journals".

Coverage varies according to each journal, but in some cases extends as far back as 1879.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
An Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.

Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.

To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.

You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.

You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. You can also filter by article type or to book chapters.

For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.

Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.

Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database, and the eBook collections ClinicalKey Student: Nursing and ClinicalKey Student: Medicine.

See all Information and Library Studies databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Websites

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
The national research and collecting institution for information and research of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present.
CoOl - Conservation online
Originating in the US, CoOl is a freely accessible platform to generate and disseminate resources for those working to preserve cultural heritage worldwide. Resources include access to information on disaster planning, library binding, film and video preservation.
National Archives of Australia - Information Management
Includes the latest policy advice, records and information management issues, and links to Commonwealth legislation.
National Trust - Australia
Established in 1945, The National Trusts, which are community-based, non-government organisations, are committed to promoting and conserving Australia's indigenous, natural and historic heritage through advocacy work and custodianship of heritage places and objects.
NSW State Archives & Records
The NSW State Archives and Records has a collection of historical records and archives dating back to the European settlement of Australia in 1788.

Professional organisations

Australian Institute for the Conservation of Cultural Material
AICCM is the professional organisation for conservators in Australia.
Australian Society of Archivists
Formed in 1975, the ASA is the peak professional body for archivists in Australia and is concerned with archives, recordkeeping and heritage preservation services.
Records and Information Management Professionals Australasia
RIM Professionals Australasia is the peak professional association for the records and information management industry in Australasia.

Standards and Legislation

Information Management Legislation
This page lists key laws that have an impact on the information management responsibilities of most Australian Government agencies. This is not a complete list of all legislation but does include the Privacy Act 1988 and The Archives Act 1983.
Information Management Standards
This website lists the Australian and international standards, endorsed by the National Archives of Australia, relating to records and information management.
General International Standard Archival Description
Published in 1999, this international standard provides general guidance for the preparation of archival descriptions.

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to all Australian Standards, plus abstracts and contents information for other international standards such as ISO, IEC, EN, ETSI, NSAI, and JSA.

To access you will need to register with a CSU email.
You can search the collection by title, number, keyword, scope, or publication dates. You can limit your search to Australian Standards only, or search all the Standards databases.

You can view online, print, or save as a PDF.

You will need to have a PDF reader on your device in order to download and read Standards offline. When you click on the Download button, you will see instructions for downloading a standard. We suggest that you follow these instructions and then ensuring that you open the standard from the file folder and NOT in your browser.

Downloaded files will be watermarked with your email address, there are limited print options and restrictions on sharing and copy/pasting. More information can be found on the DRM Explained page and in the FAQs.

Relevant standards include:

Long-term preservation of electronic document-based information (AS ISO 18492). Provides guidance on establishing processes and policies to facilitate long term storage of digital records
Information and documentation - Records management (AS ISO 15489.1). Guidelines for Records management; provides best practice records management policies and procedures.