There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

PEDro the Physiotherapy Evidence Database contains citations and abstracts of more than 21,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided.

The randomised controlled trials in PEDro are rated for quality to help you make judgements about their validity.

PEDro is maintained by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy and is based at the School of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.

PEDro is similar to 3 other Evidence-Based Practice databases, all developed in Australia: OTseeker; speechBITE, and PsycBITE.

Specific subject content includes anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, clinical sports medicine, examination and evaluation, imaging, neuroscience, pharmacology, rehabilitation, sports injuries, and wound care.

Resources include:
• A collection of more than 60 eBooks. The Books tab takes you to the entire list or you can browse by subject category.
• A drug information resource
• Multimedia resources including procedure and exercise videos
• Case studies
• Study tools including review questions based on the eBooks.

You can search across the whole site, or browse by resource/content type.

To make use of personalised features, including creating quizzes, saving images, and saving favourites, create a (free) MyAccess Profile. You can do this from the Charles Sturt University drop-down at the top-right of the AccessPhysiotherapy screen. See also McGraw-Hill’s MyAccess Profile video.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and Pre-CINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937. 

The database is updated weekly.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.

Subjects covered include:

* Nursing
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.

This collection features physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts.

Titles in the collection have been approved for educational use by several professional organisations including the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, the American Council on Exercise, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, and the Medical Fitness Association.

The collection can be searched and browsed, and has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource. Features include:

* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is one of a number of video collections produced by Alexander Street Press. You can get access to broader Alexander Street Press video content from Alexander Street Press Video and from VAST: Academic Video Online. There is other health-related content in VAST: Academic Video Online: Health Sciences.

The ICE (International Clinical Educators) videos are filmed with actual patients and clinicians in settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health, and ICU. Transcripts are included with each video.

You can search the database, or browse by video title, or by the following categories:
* Musculoskeletal 
* Nervous System 
* Mental & Behavioral Disorders
* Respiratory 
* Pediatric 
* Settings [this seems to refer to medical environments, eg: ICU]
* Full treatment settings. 

Some of these are further divided into subcategories.

If you are a lecturer, you can log in to the Faculty Zone, for tips and templates supporting the use of the videos in teaching. You need to register to access the Faculty Zone.