Library Guides: PHM101 Research Skills Guide: Find

Commonly used sources

There are many different types of resources which might offer information on the topic you are researching, but you need to consider whether the source is scholarly or authoritative enough for an academic assignment. (If in doubt, check with your lecturer.)

*Source type:**	Use this source to:
Book	Get an overview, introduction, and/or background on a topic Get in-depth information about a broad topic
Journal article	Access the latest research and ideas on your topic Learn about varied perspectives on a topic Examine a topic in very specific detail
Newspaper	Get the latest current affairs and business information Investigate public attitudes to topics and issues
Website	Locate reports and documents from government, academic, or professional organisations Find background or introductory information Familiarise yourself with the topic
Reference material (dictionaries, encyclopaedias)	Find factual and statistical information on a topic Get an overview of a subject Find definitions Use subject specific resources to decipher the "jargon" of your topic

*Source type includes both hard copy and online versions of the source (for example, books includes both hard copy books and ebooks).

The following pages will introduce you to the search tools Primo Search and Journal Databases which will help you find resources for your assignments.

Sources of information

eBook Collections

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
A McGraw-Hill resource on pharmacy and related subjects featuring a collection of 35 eBooks and a number of other learning and teaching resources.
AccessPharmacy is published by McGraw-Hill and covers the fields of pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacokinetics, pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacogenomics, pathophysiology, biochemistry, physiology, biostatistics and more.

The main resource is a collection of more than 100 eBooks with key titles including the latest editions of Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological basis of therapeutics, Pharmacotherapy: a pathophysiologic approach, Pharmacotherapy casebook: a patient-focused approach, and Harrison's Principles of internal medicine.

AccessPharmacy also includes a number of other resources:
• Multimedia resources including animations from Goodman & Gilman;
• Learning and teaching resources including a section of Q&As;
• A US Drug database plus a herbs and supplements database;
• Regular updates from the online journal Topics in Evidence-Based Pharmacy Practice;
• A section of Quick Answers to clinical conditions;
• Case studies;
• A set of Patient Education handouts;
• A book on diagnostic tests;
• Calculators.

Most of the content is updated monthly.

To make use of personalised features, including creating quizzes, saving images, and saving favourites, create a (free) MyAccess Profile. You can do this from the Charles Sturt University drop-down at the top-right of the AccessPharmacy screen. See also McGraw-Hill’s MyAccess Profile video.

This resource works on an iPad, and there is a mobile-optimised version for use on iPhone, Blackberry Bold, and Android devices.
ClinicalKey Student: Medicine This link opens in a new window
An interactive platform with a range of resources for learning and teaching in Medicine. Note: To access content on this site you need to follow a login process. We recommend that you use or create an Elsevier account - see more information... below.
ClinicalKey Student:Medicine is a collection of medicine and medical science resources comprising:
• more than 200 textbooks covering 40 medical specialties, including Gray's Anatomy for Students and Medical Physiology
• more than 850 associated videos, ranging from practical demonstrations of anatomical dissections to instructional clinical examination examples
• more than 85,000 images
• more than 1,500 quick-access summaries of medical conditions.

To access the content you will need to follow a login process: we recommend that you choose the option to create and use an Elsevier account. If you already have a ScienceDirect, Scopus, or Mendeley registration then you can use that. If you do set up an account you will need to remember the email address you use, and your password. If, when logging in, you are asked to Choose Organization, go with the default (Charles Sturt University, IP_CSU_Bathurst) and click on Continue.

Once you are signed in you can access and read content directly, or via the Bookshelf, which gives you enhanced navigation and personalisation features. (Note: When you use Bookshelf for the first time you need to be in a book chapter before you click the ‘Launch Bookshelf’ link. After the first time, you can access Bookshelf from the 'Bookshelf' link at the top of the screen or from within a book chapter.)

You can also use the Bookshelf mobile app or desktop app to read content offline and use the personalisation features.

This resource does not allow for printing sections of text.

For more on access and use, go to the ClinicalKey Student Support Center.

This site is more than just a collection of resources. It also offers interactive teaching and learning tools. Teaching staff can create and assign assessments, and track students’ performance, while students can enhance their learning by creating quizzes.