It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Previously available as Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks, this is the eBooks collection within Oxford Academic. Charles Sturt has access to approximately 2000 eBooks across a range of subjects, with unlimited user access.
In Oxford Academic - Books you can search using basic or advanced search, or browse the journals by subject area. The top-level subject areas are:
• Arts & Humanities
• Medicine & Health
• Science & Mathematics
• Social Sciences.
You can filter your results by various criteria, including availability, format, subject, and publication date.
Charles Sturt does not have full-text access to all content on the site. In results lists, availability is designated by icons: full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked (Purchased) icon, a green Free icon, or an Open Access icon. Items that are NOT available to Charles Sturt users are marked with a blue Get access label. You can filter results by availability.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive online directory of philosophy articles and books compiled by academic philosophers. It monitors journals in many areas of philosophy. It also monitors online archives and personal pages.
Its stated mission is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research through the internet, and to gather and organize philosophical research on the Internet, and provide tools for philosophers to access, organize, and discuss this research.
PhilPapers contains a wealth of full-text material, including journal articles from hundreds of journals, mainly through its Open Access Archive. Charles Sturt users should also get access to subscribed journals. If you are off-campus, you might have to set up automatic proxy browsing - see PhilPapers FAQs).
Information about the structure, content, history, and sponsors of PhilPapers can be found at About PhilPapers.
To enable features such as personal reading lists, journal filters, and content alerts, users need to create a (free) user account. While it is possible to use PhilPapers without an account, it is suggested that frequent users create an account.
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers which provides online full-text access to a comprehensive collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
This resource contains listings of eBooks and eJournals but Charles Sturt Library subscribes only to the eJournals, which are nearly 500 in number, and which are all available in full-text.
Note that, by default, you should see only results from these full-text journals.
You can conduct a basic search across the journals, and then refine or expand their search in various ways. Refiners include by research area, author, and language, while you can expand a search to show unsubscribed (eBook) material. You can also browse the entire collection by research areas, titles, publishers, or content types.
This EBSCOhost database is based on, and contains all the data from, the Humanities International Index (2,300 journals and more than 3.5 million records). It includes the full-text from more than 1,200 journals, and of other content including books.
The Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
EBSCOhost adds full-text content including full-text journals and full-text books.
Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and multi-disciplinary humanities, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts.
Coverage goes back as far as 1929.
Humanities International Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database which should have humanities-related material. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A searchable archive of full-text journals, covering all subject areas. It is an archive of back-files only and does not include current issues. The collection also includes eBooks.
In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.
Charles Sturt does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.
In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.
You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.
A free online database of high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
This independent database contains full-text articles from more than 14,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
The DOAJ “aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system”. It “is not limited to particular languages, geographical region, or subject areas. The Directory aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access academic journals”.
You can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse by subject.
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de Philosophie is a non-governmental world organisation for philosophy. Founded after WWII, its main objectives are to contribute directly to the development of professional relations between philosophers of all countries, freely and with mutual respect and to foster contacts between institutions, societies and periodical publications dedicated to philosophy.
Aims to foster interest and support research in the field of Continental/European philosophy, understood in a broad and interdisciplinary sense, in Australia, New Zealand, and in the Australasian region, and to provide a network for those interested in and/or working in this field both nationally and internationally.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.