It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.
Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.
Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.
The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A ProQuest database of journal article citations with some articles in full-text, covering a wide range of the performing arts.
Nearly 400 journals are indexed and, of these, more than 160 are available in full-text.
Specific topics covered include:
* performance art.
Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other database by clicking on Change databases in the breadcrumb trail at the top left of the search screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. You might like to search more widely in ProQuest Arts Databases, a subject-area package of databases all with arts-related material.
IIPA Full Text is a performing arts database, available in the ProQuest platform and covering film, theatre, and dance. It includes more than 100 full-text journals.
Specific subject content includes:
Key full-text journals include: American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, and Opera News.
The database is updated monthly.
Note: IIPA Full Text is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once you are in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.
An online collection of full-text plays, and video and study material, to support theatre studies and literature courses. Includes the Australian Currency Press Collection (new in September 2022).
Drama Online gives access to a range of drama texts and support material.
Specific content includes:
• 1200 titles from Bloomsbury's Methuen Dramas and the Arden Shakespeare series
• 17 video versions of selected Shakespeare plays, produced by and performed at Shakespeare's Globe (tagged in Drama Online as Globe on Screen videos
• a collection of theory, criticism and practical works that includes 58 critical guides
• an image collection of more than 500 production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum Performance Archive.
• Play Tools which include Character Grids, and Words and SpeechGraphs.
• the Currency Press Collection, from an important Australian publisher of the performing arts, commencing with a total of 201 plays and extending to 300 in 2023.
You can browse and search the collection in various ways, and you can sign up for personalisation tools, including bookmarks, notes, saved searches, and alerts.
A streaming video resource for educational institutions with thousands of films, TV series, and documentaries.
When using a mobile device you need to download Kanopy's app.
Kanopy provides more than 26,000 films, TV series, and documentaries covering all subjects and sourced from leading producers such as HBO California Newsreel, PBS, BBC, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, and Documentary Education Resources. This content can be viewed on a range of platforms and devices.
You can search the database, or browse by subject. The top-level subject categories are:
* The Arts
* Global Studies & Languages
* Media & Communications
* Social Sciences
* Instructional Films & Lessons.
Each of these subject categories has further sub-categories.
You can create a user account and this allows you to: manage your personal profile details; create, share, and embed video clips and playlists; create watchlists of favourite films; and maintain a log of your viewing history. To create a user account, click on the Sign up button at the top right of the Kanopy screen, and follow the prompts. Whenever you are subsequently signed in, you can access your Dashboard from the top right of screen.
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers which provides online full-text access to a comprehensive collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
This resource contains listings of eBooks and eJournals but Charles Sturt Library subscribes only to the eJournals, which are nearly 500 in number, and which are all available in full-text.
Note that, by default, you should see only results from these full-text journals.
You can conduct a basic search across the journals, and then refine or expand their search in various ways. Refiners include by research area, author, and language, while you can expand a search to show unsubscribed (eBook) material. You can also browse the entire collection by research areas, titles, publishers, or content types.
The national peak body representing and supporting performing arts presenters and creators in Australia by providing leadership, building capacity and facilitating relationships that strengthen the connection between the art and the audience.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.