It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find eBooks purchased by the Library using Primo Search. Enter your keyword search and use the Refine my results options to limit the results to Books that are Available online. Alternatively, use the search box below.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A free Australian database of Evidence-Based Practice material for Occupational Therapy.
OTseeker is a free, Australian web-based database that contains citations and abstracts, and sometimes the full-text, of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to Occupational Therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to help you evaluate their validity.
The trials in OTseeker have been sourced by conducting systematic searches of the following databases: MEDLINE, CINAHL, ERIC, EMBASE Rehabilitation and Physical Medicine, AMED, PsycINFO, the Cochrane Library, CancerLit, and Ageline. Other methods of sourcing trials include auto-alert strategies in MEDLINE, CINAHL, EMBASE, AMED and PsycINFO, and hand-searching of selected journals.
OTseeker is similar to three other databases, all developed in Australia: PEDro, speechBITE; and PsycBITE.
Note that the OTseeker start page has this advice: "Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously. Therefore, we recommend that users of OTseeker also search for more recent evidence using other freely available search engines and databases such as PEDro, and PubMed."
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including more than 1,050 full-text journals), and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.
Coverage is from 1986 present.
Nursing and Allied Health Source is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with Health Collection selected.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.
Coverage extends back to 1977.
Your searching from this link will be within the Health Collection database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in Health Collection. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
A database of more than 200 short video clips showing occupational therapy and physiotherapy assessment and interventions in real-life treatment settings.
The ICE (International Clinical Educators) videos are filmed with actual patients and clinicians in settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health, and ICU. Transcripts are included with each video.
You can search the database, or browse by video title, or by the following categories:
* Nervous System
* Mental & Behavioral Disorders
* Settings [this seems to refer to medical environments, eg: ICU]
* Full treatment settings.
Some of these are further divided into subcategories.
If you are a lecturer, you can log in to the Faculty Zone, for tips and templates supporting the use of the videos in teaching. You need to register to access the Faculty Zone.
A resource available in OTseeker which enables you to locate Qualitative Evidence Syntheses relevant to OT. A Qualitative Evidence Synthesis is a type of systematic review that combines and analyses evidence from primary qualitative research studies.
The VSPR consists of six online learning modules and five learning-through-simulation activities which utilise a virtual simulated patient. It is designed for all healthcare professional disciplines and specifically for undergraduate learners. Registration is required but it's free.
This Australian project is funded by Health Workforce Australia and the Department of Health, Victoria. The modules and simulation activities are designed to be completed prior to attending clinical placement, to enable learners to maximise learning opportunities in the clinical setting.
The modules are:
1.Introduction to Non-Technical Skills in the Healthcare Environment
4.Teams in Healthcare
The entire program should take about six hours to complete.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.