It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Previously available as Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks, this is the eBooks collection within Oxford Academic. Charles Sturt has access to approximately 2000 eBooks across a range of subjects, with unlimited user access.
In Oxford Academic - Books you can search using basic or advanced search, or browse the journals by subject area. The top-level subject areas are:
• Arts & Humanities
• Medicine & Health
• Science & Mathematics
• Social Sciences.
You can filter your results by various criteria, including availability, format, subject, and publication date.
Charles Sturt does not have full-text access to all content on the site. In results lists, availability is designated by icons: full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked (Purchased) icon, a green Free icon, or an Open Access icon. Items that are NOT available to Charles Sturt users are marked with a blue Get access label. You can filter results by availability.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A comprehensive collection of hundreds of reference resources from Oxford Publishing, comprising quick reference works - academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries - from Oxford University Press; and a selection of in-depth, specialised titles from Oxford University Press and partner publishers.
You can browse by subject or reference type, and search across the whole collection or within a specified subject.
When you have done a browse or search, you will probably see two tabs of results - for "entries" and for "books" - and you can narrow your results by criteria including availability, reference type, subject, and content set, and even for results with illustrations.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
An authoritative database about Australian literature and storytelling, with biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions, and online content.
AustLit is a not-for-profit collaboration between the National Library of Australia and 12 Australian universities, led by the University of Queensland, which indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources.
While most AustLit records provide only citations and library holdings information for published works, there is a range of selected critical and creative works available in full-text. (As at June 2008, there were 12,153 items available in full-text, including poems, short stories, novels, criticisms, and reviews.)
This EBSCOhost database is based on, and contains all the data from, the Humanities International Index (2,300 journals and more than 3.5 million records). It includes the full-text from more than 1,200 journals, and of other content including books.
The Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
EBSCOhost adds full-text content including full-text journals and full-text books.
Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and multi-disciplinary humanities, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts.
Coverage goes back as far as 1929.
Humanities International Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database which should have humanities-related material. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Australian Informit database of entirely full-text content from various sources, covering Australian literature, literary studies, creative writing, cultural studies, history, and society. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with Literature and Culture Collection selected. See more ... below.
This database was created in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts. It features full-text access to a number of Australian literary magazines. Key journals include Meanjin, Quadrant, Island, Wet Ink, Griffith Review and Southerly.
Content includes unique material - essays, memoirs, fiction, and poetry - that, according to Informit, is "unavailable elsewhere online".
Your searching from this link will be within the Literature & Culture Collection database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in Literature & Culture Collection. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
A package of ProQuest databases all with literature-and-language-related material. These databases can also be searched individually or in any combination.
This package includes 7 databases. The list of databases below gives an indication of subject coverage. Some of these databases are the literature-and-language subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find a copy links to search for the full item elsewhere.
The specific databases are:
* Arts & Humanities Database
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Literature & Language
* Career & Technical Education Database: Literature & Language
* India Database: Literature & Language
* Performing Arts Periodicals Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language
* Research Library: Literature & Language.
Once in the ProQuest interface, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail at the top left of the ProQuest screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination. You might also be interested in ProQuest's Linguistics Database, which surprisingly is not included in this package.
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.
From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt University are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.
One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online to users is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.
While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find link to search for the full item in other Library-subscribed resources.
Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.