It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
A collection of more than 50 eBooks covering Middle East and Islamic Studies.
When you follow the link (above) to this collection you will see a list of the 53 eBooks to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes. They are marked with a green unlocked-padlock icon to the left of the title. You can filter this list by subject, but most (44) are in the category of Middle East and Islamic Studies.
Clicking on a title takes you to the full eBook, with a link to a PDF of the entire book, and a tab for individual chapters, each one available in HTML or as a PDF.
Please note that if you move away from this list, to browse or search, you will be browsing/searching the entire Brill Online Books and Journals collection, and your results will include non-full-text items. But you can refine your results to Subscribed Content, or Free Access, or Open Access content. Items with full-text will have the green unlocked-padlock icon.
Journals and eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core describes itself as "the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press" It includes both journal articles and eBooks covering a wide range of subjects.
You can browse subjects or search all journal & book content. You can't specify the content type until you have your search results: you can then apply filters for articles or book-chapters.
There is some material in the collection that Charles Sturt does not subscribe to. To limit your searching to full-text articles and book chapters, select Only search content I have access to beneath the search box, or use the filter at your results list. Items in full-text are marked with a green tick Access icon.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
An EBSCOhost database of article and essay citations covering religion and theology, produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). It includes the full-text of more than 100 journals.
This resource combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It has the full-text of more than 380,000 articles and book reviews.
Subject coverage includes biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues, and incorporates a wide selection of Christian traditions (including Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Evangelical, and Pentecostal), plus Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Confucianism, and other religious traditions.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost, which also includes the Religion and Philosophy Collection. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A searchable archive of full-text journals, covering all subject areas. It is an archive of back-files only and does not include current issues. The collection also includes eBooks.
In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.
Charles Sturt does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.
In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.
You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.
The journals collection within Oxford Academic, including hundreds of full-text journals published by Oxford University Press. These journals are from a variety of disciplines including the arts, humanities, law, life sciences, medicine, science, and social sciences.
Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford University. As such, it "prides itself on being both a part of and a partner in the academic community" and claims to publish "the highest quality journals".
In Oxford Academic Journals you can search using basic or advanced search, or browse the journals by title or by subject area. The top-level subject areas are:
• Arts & Humanities
• Medicine & Health
• Science & Mathematics
• Social Sciences.
You can filter your results by various criteria, including availability, format, subject, and publication date.
Charles Sturt does not have full-text access to all content on the site. In results lists, availability is designated by icons: full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked (Purchased) icon, a green Free icon, or an orange Open Access icon. Items that are NOT available to Charles Sturt users are marked with a blue Get access label. You can filter results by availability.
A database of more than 150 religion-related journals, most of them available with full-text content.
ProQuest describes the content of this database as full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
ProQuest Religion Database covers formal theological studies but also general commentary on many worldwide religions. Sources include religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations, while content includes religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. There are journals in subjects related to religious studies, including philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Specific subjects include: religion; religious studies; Christianity; Judaism; Buddhism; Islam; Hinduism; Mormonism; Bahaism; Catholicism; Protestantism (including the major denominations); Evangelism; Pentecostalism; Sikhism; Shinto; and Jainism; and Eastern Orthodoxy.
Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination.
An EBSCOhost database of mostly full-text journals, covering world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
This is an almost entirely full-text database: most articles have the full-text attached. Articles are available in HTML or PDF format.
Coverage varies, with some full text content from 1975- .
You might also be interested in EBSCOhost's ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. Because it's in the same platform, you can search it and Religion and Philosophy Collection at the same time. (Go to Choose Databases and tick the boxes for both databases.)
This collection of digitised materials from the Aga Khan Library in London includes manuscripts, artworks, out-of-print publications, photographs, maps and research materials produced in different periods and areas of the Muslim world.
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Over 63000 texts are included in this library.
This resource highlights digital research materials and projects in the field of Islamic Studies. Included in this roundup are manuscripts collections, digitized manuscripts, and manuscripts catalogues from universities and libraries around the world.
This resource is a list of primary sources online, and resources linking to primary sources. Links are included to digitized Islamic manuscripts, digitized periodicals, digitized books, oral history repositories, online syllabi and material history archives, all relevant to Middle East, North African, Islamicate world, and Islamic studies.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.