Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLT505 Research Skills Guide: Other Databases

A guide to searching for research articles for HLT505

Database Packages for Health and Medicine

If you want to search more widely than CINAHL Plus with Full Text, but wish to remain in the EBSCOhost platform/interface, then you can try:

See also the box at right for information on choosing databases within EBSCOhost. Note that, if you choose to search in more than database, you won't be able to use CINAHL's Suggest Subject Terms feature.

ProQuest is another database platform with a number of databases that cover nursing, health, and medicine. These databases are available in the combined package:

See also the box at right for information on choosing databases within ProQuest.

Scopus - Searching

Scopus is known as a citation index because the article records included lists of citing articles. This means that, if you find an article of interest, you can look at subsequent articles that have cited it. You can find important articles on a topic, and follow research paths.

Scopus is a multi-subject database, but does cover the Health Sciences - medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary science, and the health professions - as well as the life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences & humanities. 

CSU Library also subscribes to the Web of Science Core Collection, which is an alternative citation index.

  • The default is to Document Search, which is similar to Advanced Search in other databases. You can add extra lines of search.
  • The default is to search in Title, Abstract, and Keywords. This is a useful type of search. It can be changed.
  • The default is to a keyword search. If you want to search for a phrase, enclose it in double quotation marks.
  • In Scopus, there are some limiters that can be used as part of a search, but many more that can be applied to a set of results. In fact, you can choose to Limit to, or Exclude, certain results.
  • You can do a Proximity Search: the proximity operator is W/n, where n is the number of words you specify. Eg. "nursing diagnosis" W/3 "pressure care".
  • Scopus does not contain links to the full-text of articles. For each result, you will need to use the Find it [at] CSU link to search for the full article in other CSU Library databases.
  • You can do as much searching as you like, and return to the results later. Your previous searches appear in the Search history panel beneath the search panel. 
  • If you wish to save searches or set up search alerts, you need to register with Elsevier. Here's how:
  1. At the top right of screen, click on Register.
  2. Follow the instructions and prompts to register.
  3. Your email address will be your username. Make sure you remember your password for future use!

Using Scopus to Find Citing Articles

When you get a results list in Scopus, one of the columns that displays is Cited by. This shows the number of articles (indexed in Scopus) that have cited the article. Clicking on the number will display brief records of those citing articles.

Scopus results lists are, by default, be sorted by Relevance. You can change this to Cited by (highest) or Cited by (lowest).

You can use this feature of Scopus to:

  • follow a research path forwards and find related articles
  • find seminal articles on a topic.

Searching in more than one database in EBSCOhost

If you wish to search more extensively within the EBSCOhost platform, you can search across multiple databases at the same time. Here's how:

On the main search screen, click on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes, then select other databases in the tick-box menu. You will search across all the databases that are ticked.

The EBSCOhost databases menu shows the list of databases. You can use the tick boxes beside each one to select or deselect them.

Searching in More Than One Database in ProQuest

If you wish to search more extensively within the ProQuest platform, you can change to searching any combination of ProQuest databases by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail:

Scopus - More Help

The Scopus help screens are at Scopus Help.

For individual help with using Scopus, please contact Tim or contact the Library.