In your HLT505 Assessment 1, you are looking for research articles, so, in whatever database you are using, look for any way to restrict your results to Research Article. For example, on the Advanced Search screen of CINAHL Plus with Full Text, there is a tick-box limiter for Research Article.
You need to find four articles, two representing quantitative research and two representing qualitative research. For the full instructions for this assessment task, please refer to your Subject outline.
| What you are looking for | Search strategy to try |
| To find an article on an epidemiology question | Use search terms that indicate the population group you are interested in, the disease of interest, and what measurement you are interested in (eg. prevalen*, incidence, severity, frequen*) |
| If your epidemiology question concerns a possible correlation between two variables | Use a Boolean phrase such as correlat* OR associat* OR risk factor in addition to naming the variables in which you are interested |
| To search for an intervention effectiveness (experimental) study | Use a phrase such as intervention OR effect* OR trial. Add keywords that indicate the population, intervention, and outcome of interest |
| To find a systematic review article | Try and restrict your search to Review (eg. the Publication Type limiter in CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes an option for Systematic Review) |
| For diagnostic and prognostic questions | Include possible variants of the disorder/disease you are interested in, along with the terms assess* OR diagnos*, or the term prognos* |
When searching for your two qualitative articles:
Don't forget that you need to find articles published in the last 10 years. Primo Search and databases give you the option to limit (at the time a search is run) or refine (after the search has been run) your results by date.
As part of this assessment, you need to choose a paper that includes "an Australian First Nations approach to research". For further assistance with this part, you might like to check out the following resources:
For both of your articles (one qualitative and one quantitative) you MUST share a permalink to the article into the relevant HLT505 forum. Each link MUST be generated within a CSU library database.
There are instructions on how to do this at the Library's webpage on Creating Links to Resources. It is necessary to follow these instructions so that your links will work off-campus. It is important to realise you can not simply copy and paste the url from the top of your browser.
PubMed is not a subscription database so creating a permalink to a PubMed record is a little different. Simply locate the PubMed id number (PMID) which appears at the bottom of each record, and add it to this base URL: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
Optional extra: attach a PDF of the article. This would require you to download and save the article PDF to your computer. When you are saving a downloaded PDF, it is a smart habit to label the file with the first author's surname, year of publication, and a few key words.
Further optional extra: provide a complete APA style reference for the article. Use the link to APA style guidance in your HLT505 site, or use the Referencing at CSU webpage. Referencing is not an assessable component of this task, but your teacher can give you formative feedback on your referencing style if you choose to practise your APA referencing in this task.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
