Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.

You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.

When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.

You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.

When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).

There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

These eBooks are available in the SpringerLink database, which contains journals and reference works as well as books. It also contains some content that Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to.

The link here takes you to a browse list of available eBooks, and if you search using the search box at the top of screen, your searching should be across available eBook titles.

However, if you use the Search Options > Advanced Search at the right of the search box, your search will be across all content in SpringerLink, including journals and articles and unsubscribed ("preview-only") content.

You can limit your search to subscribed material by unticking the "Include preview-only content" box at the bottom of the search screen, and you can refine your results to show only book, or book chapter, material, by using the refiners in the panel at the left of a results list.

Other content includes dissertations & theses, conference papers and proceedings, reports, and video and audio.

Specific topics include: 
* community and mental health services
* culture and social structure
* family and marriage
* gerontology
* history and theory of sociology
* social care
* social policy
* social psychology
* social services and welfare
* substance abuse and addiction.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination. If you wish to search more broadly, ProQuest Social Science Databases is a subject package of several ProQuest databases covering the social sciences.

This database combines clinical research journals with hundreds of consumer and administration titles, and it covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, surgery, nursing, pharmacy and pharmacology, gerontology, immunology, radiology, public health, health management, health marketing, and physical fitness and hygiene. 

Coverage is from 1987 current. 

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database and ProQuest Consumer Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. There is a subject package of databases available at ProQuest Health & Medicine Databases.