It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Previously available as Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks, this is the eBooks collection within Oxford Academic. Charles Sturt has access to approximately 2000 eBooks across a range of subjects, with unlimited user access.
In Oxford Academic - Books you can search using basic or advanced search, or browse the journals by subject area. The top-level subject areas are:
• Arts & Humanities
• Medicine & Health
• Science & Mathematics
• Social Sciences.
You can filter your results by various criteria, including availability, format, subject, and publication date.
Charles Sturt does not have full-text access to all content on the site. In results lists, availability is designated by icons: full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked (Purchased) icon, a green Free icon, or an Open Access icon. Items that are NOT available to Charles Sturt users are marked with a blue Get access label. You can filter results by availability.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.
Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.
The database is updated daily.
Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.
Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive online directory of philosophy articles and books compiled by academic philosophers. It monitors journals in many areas of philosophy. It also monitors online archives and personal pages.
Its stated mission is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research through the internet, and to gather and organize philosophical research on the Internet, and provide tools for philosophers to access, organize, and discuss this research.
PhilPapers contains a wealth of full-text material, including journal articles from hundreds of journals, mainly through its Open Access Archive. Charles Sturt users should also get access to subscribed journals. If you are off-campus, you might have to set up automatic proxy browsing - see PhilPapers FAQs).
Information about the structure, content, history, and sponsors of PhilPapers can be found at About PhilPapers.
To enable features such as personal reading lists, journal filters, and content alerts, users need to create a (free) user account. While it is possible to use PhilPapers without an account, it is suggested that frequent users create an account.
A database of more than 150 religion-related journals, most of them available with full-text content.
ProQuest describes the content of this database as full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
ProQuest Religion Database covers formal theological studies but also general commentary on many worldwide religions. Sources include religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations, while content includes religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. There are journals in subjects related to religious studies, including philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Specific subjects include: religion; religious studies; Christianity; Judaism; Buddhism; Islam; Hinduism; Mormonism; Bahaism; Catholicism; Protestantism (including the major denominations); Evangelism; Pentecostalism; Sikhism; Shinto; and Jainism; and Eastern Orthodoxy.
Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination.
An EBSCOhost database of mostly full-text journals, covering world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
This is an almost entirely full-text database: most articles have the full-text attached. Articles are available in HTML or PDF format.
Coverage varies, with some full text content from 1975- .
You might also be interested in EBSCOhost's ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. Because it's in the same platform, you can search it and Religion and Philosophy Collection at the same time. (Go to Choose Databases and tick the boxes for both databases.)
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
The broad purpose of the AAPAE is to encourage awareness of applied ethics as a significant area of concern, and to foster discussion of issues in applied ethics. It provides a meeting point for practitioners from various fields together with academics with specialist expertise.
An independent organisation that assists individuals, groups and businesses to navigate the complexity and uncertainty of difficult ethical issues, providing practical guidance on complex ethical issues across all levels of society.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.