It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSIRO Publishing is a leading Australian science publisher. This collection consists of more than 350 eBooks titles covering agriculture, aquatic science, plant and animal sciences, forestry, environmental science, and natural history.
The link here takes you to an “Archive” list of subscribed eBooks. These should all be available in full-text. If you select one of these books, you can:
* read online
* search within the book
* download the entire book as a PDF
* navigate to and download individual chapters as PDFs.
If you search using the search box at the top right of screen, you will get results for both books and book-chapters, and your results will include items that are not necessarily available in full-text. Books and book-chapters that are available in full-text are marked with a tick; items that are not available in full-text are marked with a locked padlock.
CAB eBooks is an ever-expanding collection of hundreds of eBooks published by CAB International (CABI) covering agriculture, animal & veterinary sciences, environmental science, human health & nutrition, leisure & tourism, and plant sciences.
You can browse the collection under the subject-headings listed above, which are listed as tabs across each page. Or search using a search box which is also on each page. You can select which subject area(s) you search in.
Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, displayed as PDF files. You can download or print or email material for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (see Terms and Conditions).
There is no limit on the number of concurrent users.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.
Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.
The database is updated daily.
Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.
Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.
The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.
An Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.
To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.
You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.
You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. You can also filter by article type or to book chapters.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.
Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
This animal, veterinary and agricultural science database covers animal production; animal welfare; biosecurity; companion animals; dairy cattle; deer; epidemiology; equine science; food safety; sheep and beef cattle; and veterinary nursing.
SciQuest, developed by the New Zealand Veterinary Association (NZVA) and the NZVA Foundation for Continuing Education, is a searchable and browsable collection of New Zealand and Australian veterinary and animal science publications, and veterinary continuing-education publications. It includes journals, conference proceedings, newsletters, and lectures.
Key titles include The New Zealand Veterinary Journal, Australian Equine Veterinarian, and The Proceedings of the New Zealand Society of Animal Production.
Important: Please note that, in this collection, publications can only be searched one at a time. This is because they contain unique indexes.
An online resource of point-of-care clinical information, including both textual and multimedia material, for the veterinary treatment of the dog, cat, rabbit, and horse.
The Canis, Felis, Lapis, and Equis services each include peer-reviewed point-of-care content which in turn includes both text and multimedia items. The multimedia material includes images, sound, and videos.
As an indication of the extent of this resource, at January 2013 the Canis module on its own comprised nearly 7000 items: 2639 text items; 4103 images, videos, and sounds; and 142 owner factsheets.
One feature of this resource is the owner factsheets, which are designed to support communication with animal owners. These factsheets can be found within each module under the heading of "Owner information".
A collection of 6 databases available in the Thomson Reuters interface, the most significant of which are: Web of Science Core Collection; Current Contents Connect; MEDLINE; and SciELO Citation Index. These databases can be searched together or individually.
Details of the 6 databases are: * Web of Science Core Collection - a collection of 5 citation indexes and 2 chemical indexes, where you can, amongst other things, find citing articles (ie articles that have cited a specific reference); * Current Contents Connect - a current awareness product which includes tables of contents and citations from journals from all disciplines; * KCI-Korean Journal Database - features research emanating from South Korea, and covers about 2,000 scholarly journals; * MEDLINE - the well-known international health and medicine database, produced by the (US) National Library of Medicine; * Russian Science Citation Index - covers Russian research in fields such as engineering, materials science, and ecology, with more than 600 journals indexed; * SciELO Citation Index (Scientific Electronic Library Online) - a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals, which includes regional journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.
These databases can be searched together ("All Databases", which is the default) or individually. To change to a single database, click on the drop-down arrow beside All Databases in the main tab-bar of the Web of Science screen.
Most of the articles in this databases don't have the full-text attached, but you can use the Find it button, situated beneath each record, to locate the full-text in another online database or in a campus library print holding.
Please note: Web of Science does not work in Internet Explorer 6 or 7, or Internet Explorer 8 or 9 when running in Compatibility View. If you wish to use Web of Science with IE, you should update the version, and, in IE 8 or 9, hit F12 and check that your Browser Mode is not set to Compatibility View.
The members of EDAA, oldest horse dentist association in Australia, provides humane, routine, dental care to horses, ponies and donkeys, and advises horse owners on the longevity and well-being of their beloved horses.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.