It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CAB eBooks is an ever-expanding collection of hundreds of eBooks published by CAB International (CABI) covering agriculture, animal & veterinary sciences, environmental science, human health & nutrition, leisure & tourism, and plant sciences.
You can browse the collection under the subject-headings listed above, which are listed as tabs across each page. Or search using a search box which is also on each page. You can select which subject area(s) you search in.
Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, displayed as PDF files. You can download or print or email material for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (see Terms and Conditions).
There is no limit on the number of concurrent users.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A collection of thousands of eBooks published by Springer, covering biomedical & life sciences, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, and medicine.
These eBooks are available in the SpringerLink database, which contains journals and reference works as well as books. It also contains some content that Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to.
The link here takes you to a browse list of available eBooks, and if you search using the search box at the top of screen, your searching should be across available eBook titles.
However, if you use the Search Options > Advanced Search at the right of the search box, your search will be across all content in SpringerLink, including journals and articles and unsubscribed ("preview-only") content.
You can limit your search to subscribed material by unticking the "Include preview-only content" box at the bottom of the search screen, and you can refine your results to show only book, or book chapter, material, by using the refiners in the panel at the left of a results list.
An entirely full-text collection of more than 150 peer-reviewed journals, covering biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne is a global not-for-profit collaboration which brings together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
This entirely full-text collection of more than 150 journals includes some of the most important academic society journals in their respective disciplines.
When you first log in, you will be in the Advanced Search screen, but you can also browse the database by title, publisher, or collection. (There are 3 "collections" - BioOne.1, BioOne.2, and Open Access. The first two collections represent packages of journals as added to the database, while the third is a small collection of open access journals.)
If you set up your own profile, you can make use of the My BioOne features, which include saved searches, search alerts, and lists of favourite journals.
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.
The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.
An EBSCOhost database which includes a range of source material covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
The collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on conservation, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Key journals that are available in full-text include Conservation Biology; International Journal of Green Energy; Journal of Ecology; Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, and Journal of Wildlife Management. Other key journals that are indexed only include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment; Bioscience; and Forest Ecology & Management.
GreenFILE is provided free by EBSCOhost and so contains relatively less full-text material than other EBSCOhost databases. However, for articles where the full-text is not provided, you can use the Find it - CSU links to search for the full article if available in another database.
Greenfile is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A collection of three databases in the ProQuest platform: Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection; Biological Science Collection; and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Sciences Collection.
You can search the three subsidiary collections individually if you wish:
* Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection covers the Agricultural Science, AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), Environmental Impact Statements (EIS), and Environmental Science databases
* Biological Science Collection covers the Biological Science, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases
* Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Sciences Collection covers the Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science Database, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA).
Content is sourced from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Topics include: agriculture; aquatic sciences; biology; climate and weather; conservation; earth sciences; environmental science; fish and fisheries; food and food industries; forestry; geography; geology; life sciences; natural sciences; physical sciences; sustainability; and water resources.
Once you are in the ProQuest interface, you can change to any other ProQuest database(s) by clicking on the Change databases, or Databases, tab at the top left of any ProQuest screen. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. There are two broader collections of science and technology databases: ProQuest's SciTech Premium Collection, and ProQuest's subject package of Science and Technology Databases.
Botany and horticultural information; Rare & threatened plants; Aboriginal uses of native plants; book lists and access to a number of ANBG databases including - Australian plant names index; Herbarium specimen information.
The OEA facilitates communication between state and territory outdoor education associations about the practice and delivery of outdoor education. The website includes information about OEA events, careers in outdoor education and links to outdoor education resources.
The Ecological Society of Australia (ESA) is the peak group of ecologists in Australia. Its purpose is to support ecologists, promote ecology and ecological research. The ESA website includes a blog, career opportunities and a section on ecological research.
The Environment Institute is a leading professional body in Australia and New Zealand for environmental practitioners, promoting discourse on environmental issues. Their website contains links to webinars, jobs, their journal and a qualifications accreditation scheme.
The national peak body advocates for and represents outdoor education organisations and individuals. The website contains sections on COVID-19 management plans, outdoor education research and resources as well as industry news.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.