This small collection includes works on hydrology, geotechnical & rock engineering, geology & earthworks, bridge engineering, structural mechanics, building structures, and communication for professional engineers.

Unfortunately you can't limit a search to subscribed content, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text.

Similarly, you can't restrict your search to eBook content (the collection includes eJournals as well, but Charles Sturt Library does not have a subscription to these).

You can access an Advanced Search screen by clicking on the Search button when there are no search terms entered in the search box (or use this Advanced Search link). The Advanced Search screen seems to display better in Firefox than in IE.

Subscribed content is designated by an orange S icon; free content is designated by a green F icon.

The link here is to the browse list of eBooks in this subject category. From there you can drill down into narrower subject categories, or search within Engineering & Technology. All the results of browsing and searching should be available to you in full-text.

In your results list there are tabs for Book results, and Chapter results.

If you click on the Taylor & Francis logo at the top left of screen, you will be taken to the full collection, where you can search the collection or browse other subject categories. Charles Sturt has other subscriptions in the categories of Built Environment, Earth Sciences, and Environment & Agriculture. At any time when you have searched or browsed you can tick the box for "Show content I have access to" to see only the full text (subscribed) eBooks.

There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

Engineering Source indexes more than 3000 journals, and, of these, more than 2000 are available in full-text.

Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical, civil, electrical, environmental, mechanical, software, and structural engineering. 

Source documents includes journals, magazines, trade publications, books, conference papers, and proceedings.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

 

 

Content providers include Engineers Australia, the Australian Road Research Board, the Australian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine, and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

Material includes journal articles, conference proceedings, working papers, and other grey literature, all provided in full-text.

Your searching from this link will be within the Engineering Collection database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in Engineering Collection. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

Coverage is from 1980 - present.

Topics include aerospace & aircraft, automotive, chemical, civil, earthquake, electrical, environmental, mechanical, nuclear, and transport engineering.

Content is sourced from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. You might also be interested in:
* ProQuest Technology Collection - consisting of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection, and the Materials Science & Engineering Collection.
* ProQuest's subject package of Science and Technology Databases.

 

 

ProQuest Science & Technology Databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 19 databases with science-and-technology-related material. Some of these databases are the science-and-technology subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. Other databases - eg. SciTech Premium Collection - are collections of databases.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find a copy links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Agriculture Database
* Biological Science Database
* Computer Science Database
* Environmental Science Database
* GeoRef - note: the two databases in this collection do not contain full-text material
* Materials Science Database
* Research Library: Science & Technology 
* Science Database
* SciTech Premium Collection - note: a collection of subsidiary databases
* Telecommunications Database.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination.

Subject content includes electrical and electronics engineering, computer science, and associated topics such as aerospace engineering, biomedical sciences, geosciences, physics, medical imaging, digital animation and media, and telecommunications.

The main content that you have access to in IEEE Xplore is the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL), which includes access to full text articles published since 1988 (and select content published since 1893) from:
* more than 150 IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines;
* 25 IET journals and magazines;
* proceedings from more than 1000 IEEE and IET annual conferences;
* more than 2,100 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields;
* the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.

You also have access to:
* the VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings, which include AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from more than 20 annual conference titles. [VDE Verlag is a European technical/scientific publisher]; and to
* individual online journals, including access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology and from IEEE Transactions on Image Processing.

Updating is weekly, and more than 25,000 new IEEE/IET articles are added each month.

You can search the collection by title, number, keyword, scope, or publication dates. You can limit your search to Australian Standards only, or search all the Standards databases.

You can view online, print, or save as a PDF. Online viewing is limited to 3 users at a time.

You will need to have a PDF reader on your device in order to download and read Standards offline. When you click on the Download button, you will see instructions for downloading a standard. We suggest that you follow these instructions and then ensuring that you open the standard from the file folder and NOT in your browser.

Downloaded files will be watermarked with your email address, there are limited print options and restrictions on sharing and copy/pasting. More information can be found on the DRM Explained page and in the FAQs.