A collection of thousands of eBooks published by Springer, covering biomedical & life sciences, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, and medicine.
These eBooks are available in the SpringerLink database, which contains journals and reference works as well as books. It also contains some content that Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to.
The link here takes you to a browse list of available eBooks, and if you search using the search box at the top of screen, your searching should be across available eBook titles.
However, if you use the Search Options > Advanced Search at the right of the search box, your search will be across all content in SpringerLink, including journals and articles and unsubscribed ("preview-only") content.
You can limit your search to subscribed material by unticking the "Include preview-only content" box at the bottom of the search screen, and you can refine your results to show only book, or book chapter, material, by using the refiners in the panel at the left of a results list.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
The Australian Disaster Resilience Knowledge Hub (the 'Knowledge Hub') is a national, open-source platform that supports and informs policy, planning, decision making and contemporary good practice in disaster resilience.
The Knowledge Hub highlights current and emerging themes in the resilience sector, linking national guidelines with research and fostering collaboration among leading agencies and organisations. The Knowledge Hub also houses information on historical Australian disasters.
The Knowledge Hub is managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience on behalf of the Australian Government, and replaces the Emergency Management Knowledge Hub.
A database which includes full-text articles; news feeds; reports; summaries; books; FAQs; images; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security. Available here in the standard EBSCOhost interface.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center provides a comprehensive open source intelligence resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students.
Content includes: hundreds of thousands of selected articles from full-text journals; news feeds; reports (including Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts, and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary); summaries; books; FAQs; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
An Images file of over 9,000 pertinent images has been added to the database. You can access this images collection by hovering your mouse over the More heading in the blue bar at the top of the search screen.
ISCTRC is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes.
Content is sourced from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database: click on the hamburger menu at the top left of any ProQuest screen, then click on Change databases. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. For another broad collection of databases in the science area, try ProQuest's subject package of Science & Technology Databases.
A database of journals and eBooks published by Springer, with much available in full-text. The journals tend to be from the scientific, medical, and scientific disciplines, while the eBooks cover biomedical & life sciences; computer science; earth & environmental science; humanities, social sciences & law; and medicine.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the items in this collection.
You can tell which results are available to you in full-text because those that are NOT available are marked with a padlock icon.
You can't limit a search to journal or book material, or to full-text content only, at the time the search is run. But you can refine your results by Content Type and/or by unticking the box for Include Preview-Only content. There are other refining options for Discipline, Subdiscipline, and Language.
A full-text database of publications from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners, including the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). These organisations are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.
Subject content includes electrical and electronics engineering, computer science, and associated topics such as aerospace engineering, biomedical sciences, geosciences, physics, medical imaging, digital animation and media, and telecommunications.
The main content that you have access to in IEEE Xplore is the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL), which includes access to full text articles published since 1988 (and select content published since 1893) from:
* more than 150 IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines;
* 25 IET journals and magazines;
* proceedings from more than 1000 IEEE and IET annual conferences;
* more than 2,100 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields;
* the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
You also have access to:
* the VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings, which include AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from more than 20 annual conference titles. [VDE Verlag is a European technical/scientific publisher]; and to
* individual online journals, including access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology and from IEEE Transactions on Image Processing.
Updating is weekly, and more than 25,000 new IEEE/IET articles are added each month.
A database that deals with the primary areas of practice encompassing drugs offences, customs offences, corporations and tax offences, migration offences, social security offences, plus more. Publishing occurs (on average) at least twice a month and during periods of rapid legislative change occurs several times a month.
A federal government website that discusses health emergencies from a national and international viewpoint. Contains policies, programs, related laws and other resources.
Leading state government disaster and emergency efforts from prevention to recovery. Find disaster recovery, planning, and rescue and management plans and resources on this site.
This department from the University of Colorado aims to mitigate hazard losses and build stronger communities. They provide access to journals, disaster research, reports, dissertations/theses, and training and workshops.
A collaborative knowledge sharing platform on disaster risk reduction (DRR), managed by the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR). The site offers a range of knowledge products and services to facilitate the work of DRR professionals.
This federal government website contains crisis and disaster guidebooks, reports on past disasters, toolkits, frameworks and action plans. It also has information on other national centres and teams that are partners.
A professional body for the study of the roles and functions of Emergency Services and Emergency management Organisations in Australia. The AIES acts as a forum where members can share their opinions with other emergency service workers.
A national, open-source platform that supports and informs policy, planning, decision making and contemporary good practice in disaster resilience. Contains an interactive Disaster Map (filter by dates) that shows disasters across the world.
This institute develops, maintains and shares knowledge and learning to support a disaster resilient Australia. Access education programs, journals, disaster handbooks and conference proceedings on their website.
DERA provides professional support, resource-sharing, leadership opportunities and professional networking for it's members, and is involved in providing critical emergency assistance in response to disasters around the world.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
A Dictionary of disaster management by 
Encyclopedia of security and emergency management by 
Encyclopedia of disaster relief by 
Encyclopedia of natural hazards by 
