A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Previously available as Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks, this is the eBooks collection within Oxford Academic. Charles Sturt has access to approximately 2000 eBooks across a range of subjects, with unlimited user access.
In Oxford Academic - Books you can search using basic or advanced search, or browse the journals by subject area. The top-level subject areas are:
• Arts & Humanities
• Law
• Medicine & Health
• Science & Mathematics
• Social Sciences.
You can filter your results by various criteria, including availability, format, subject, and publication date.
Charles Sturt does not have full-text access to all content on the site. In results lists, availability is designated by icons: full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked (Purchased) icon, a green Free icon, or an Open Access icon. Items that are NOT available to Charles Sturt users are marked with a blue Get access label. You can filter results by availability.
The search box gives you the option to search across the whole of Oxford Academic or the Journals collection. You can also access these at Oxford Academic and Oxford Academic - Journals.
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.
Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.
Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.
The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
Australian Informit database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text, covering all aspects of law. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with AGIS Plus Text selected. See more ... below
The full title of AGIS Plus Text is Attorney General's Information Service Plus Text. It includes over 140 peer-reviewed law journals from Australia, New Zealand, and the Asia Pacific region, plus selected articles from major law journals from the UK, the US, and Canada.
Specific topics covered include administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices.
Your searching from this link will be within AGIS Plus Text only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in AGIS Plus Text. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
An Informit Australian database of citations and article summaries from more than 560 journals, with most also available in full-text. It covers current affairs, economics, health, humanities, law, literature, politics, and social sciences. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with APAFT selected. See more ... below.
Key titles include:
* Australian Aboriginal Studies;
* Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health;
* Australian Health Review;
* Australian Historical Studies;
* Australian Journal of Communication
* Australian Journal of Social Issues;
* Griffith Review
* Journal of Australian Political Economy and Oceania;
* Journal of Industrial Relations;
* Keeping Good Companies;
* Metro;
* Quadrant.
Index records are from 1978 to present, with full-text material available from 1994 to present.
Your searching from this link will be within APAFT only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in APAFT. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
A free Australian resource providing internet access to primary and secondary legal materials.
AustLII the Australasian Legal Information Institute - is a joint facility of the UTS and the UNSW Faculties of Law. It provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, and claims to be one of the largest sources of legal materials on the Net, with millions of searchable documents.
AustLII publishes public legal information, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals, and case law); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (for example, law reform and royal commission reports). There is also a substantial collection of law journals.
It includes extensive links to other Australasian and international legal resources on the Internet.
Online access to Australian primary and secondary resources on a range of legal and related topics.
CCH Intelliconnect is the online platform by which CCH products and content are made available.
In January 2011 Charles Sturt increased its CCH online subscription to replace titles previously available as print resources. CCH Intelliconnect now includes nearly 300 titles.
The online content can be searched or browsed, or documents of a known citation or reference can be found using Pinpoint.
When you access CCH Intelliconnect, you will be taken to the Browse screen, where available content is displayed in a subject tree for browsing. Searching is available from all screens: the default is to searching all subscribed content but this can be changed so that only specific content or documents are searched.
You can:
* set search preferences,
* use the tabbed format to keep up to 5 searches active at one time,
* save searches,
* set up Research Folders to save and store documents,
* view recent searches and documents,
* save specific areas of content as Favourites,
* temporarily hold documents in the Document Tray,
* create external links to documents and specific product content.
A free on-line database of treaties to which Australia is a signatory, or where Australia has taken other treaty action.
The Australian Treaty Series is a database within the Australian Treaties Library, which in turn is part of AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute).
The default view lists the treaties by year, but you can browse by country, subject, or short title. You can search the Australian Treaties Library.
A database which includes full-text articles; news feeds; reports; summaries; books; FAQs; images; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security. Available here in the standard EBSCOhost interface.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center provides a comprehensive open source intelligence resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students.
Content includes: hundreds of thousands of selected articles from full-text journals; news feeds; reports (including Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts, and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary); summaries; books; FAQs; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
An Images file of over 9,000 pertinent images has been added to the database. You can access this images collection by hovering your mouse over the More heading in the blue bar at the top of the search screen.
ISCTRC is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes.
The Centre for Customs and Excise Studies (CCES), the world’s leading provider of training and education in the highly specialised areas of customs, excise and border management.
This Australian National Audit Office report discusses the effectiveness of the Australian Customs and Border Protection Service's end-to-end processing of incoming international air passengers.
This is an online version of the Australian Border Force document titled 'Combined Australian Customs Tariff Nomenclature and Statistical Classification', commonly known as the Working Tariff.
ASPI is an independent, non-partisan think tank that produces expert and timely advice for Australia’s strategic and defence leaders. ASPI generates new ideas for government, allowing them to make better-informed decisions for Australia’s future.
The World Customs Organization (WCO), established in 1952 as the Customs Co-operation Council (CCC) is an independent intergovernmental body whose mission is to enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of Customs administrations.
The ICC is the most prominent non-governmental organization representing the interests of the international business community. They promote customs reform and provide customs and trade policy statements.
The Australian Federal Police (AFP) provides a range of investigation and operational support, security risk management, security vetting and information services to assist public.
Find information, resources, and publications on Australia's federal law enforcement, national and transport security, criminal justice, emergency management, multicultural affairs and immigration and border-related functions and agencies.
DFAT advances the interests of Australia and Australians internationally, by working to strengthen security, enhance prosperity, deliver quality aid programs, and helping Australian travellers and overseas residents.
The Commission was established in 1986 by an act of the federal Parliament. It is an independent statutory organisation that reports to the federal Parliament through the Attorney-General.
The Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents.
The Australian Government has a number of policies that seek to develop and assist Australian businesses involved in international trade.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
A Dictionary of International Trade Organizations and Agreements by 
Australian Law Dictionary by 
