Library Guides: MRS Research Skills Guide: Search

Introduction

Before you start searching online resources, it's good to have a grasp of some of the general techniques of online searching. This will help you develop and effective search strategy.

Note: Databases and other online resources are similar in what they offer and what they do, but are different in their specific appearance and functionality. It's a good idea to check a database's Help section to check and confirm how to search in that particular database.

For more information please see: Searching in a Database

Get better search results

Common Search Techniques

These search tips can help you to find more relevant results in Primo Search and many other library databases. If these tips don't work in the database you are using check their help section for their set of symbols.

Search Operator	Example
Use AND to retrieve results that contain both of your search terms.	CT AND "radiation dosage"
Use OR to retrieve results that contain any or all of your search terms.	CT OR "computed tomography"
Using NOT to exclude irrelevant results.	drink NOT milk
Combine terms with parentheses to create complex searches.	"radiation dosage" AND (reduce OR decrease OR limit)
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase	"computed tomography"
Search for terms with different word endings using an asterisk.	limit* = limits, limiter, limitations
A question mark can be used to replace a single letter within a word.	analy?e = analyse, analyze

For information on these search tips and more please see: Searching in a Database

Example Search Strategy

A search strategy using the key concepts identified from our PICO example, and combined with synonyms and relevant search techniques might look like:

("computed tomography" OR CT) AND "radiation dosage" AND (reduc* OR decrease* OR limit*)

We'll work through how to apply a search strategy in Primo Search and journal databases on the next few pages in this guide.