Skip to main content

Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) Guide: Tracking Citations

This guide supports the Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) course

Tracking Citations

Once you have found a good article, you can use its citations or reference list to find additional resources. There are two ways you can do this:

1. Footnote chasing: You look at an information source's citation list - this will lead you to material that is older.

If you find a good source of information it can be a good idea to take a look at its reference list to see if you can find any other useful resources.

Things to note:

  • This method helps you find information that is older. If the source you are looking at is already quite old, this may not be the best method to employ, though there is certainly no harm in looking.
  • Every article you find using this method should be subjected to the same evaluative scrutiny as any other information source.

2. Citation searching: You look at who has cited the information source - this will lead you to material that is newer.

Some, but not all, databases including Google Scholar have a feature where you can see who has cited the resource you're looking at.

Things to note:

  • The database is unlikely to show you every citing article. This is because no database will contain every resource written on a topic. A database can only compare its own records.
  • Every article you find using this method should be subjected to the same evaluative scrutiny as any other information source.

Why use Citation databases?

Citation databases have been developed to help evaluate publications and identify which articles or journals are the most cited and which research has had the greatest impact.Whether it is information about a particular author or subject area you can use citation databases to count citations, find related works that share references or authors and set up alerts to notify you when a document or author is cited elsewhere. In addition, you use citation databases to check and track citation data year-by-year, navigating forward and backward through the literature related to a topic to evaluate its importance to research.

The Library subscribes to two citation databases Scopus and Web of Science and you find out more about them by looking at the Citation database webpage. The Web of Science databases provides little business content.

Citation searching

Footnote Chasing