Library Guides: Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) Guide: Research Methods

Why use SAGE Research Methods?

The SAGE Research Methods (SRMO) database can help you design, run and write up your research project. The database focuses on methodology that can be used across multiple disciplines.

SRMO provides access to:

Full text content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
The Little Green Book (qualitative research methods) series
The Little Blue Book (quantitative applications in the social sciences) series
A selection of journal articles and specially commissioned videos.
A collection of Datasets taken from real research projects.

You can find out more information by looking the Library's SAGE Research Methods webpage.

We'll explore this platform in more detail in RES401.

SAGE Research Methods - Foundations This link opens in a new window
This is an introductory resource to major research methods.
Sage Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to research methods and terms for those who are new to research in general or new to a particular method.

It covers qualitative and quantitative methods; key research studies; profiles of important researchers; and the history, development, and debates around the major topics in research methods.

You can search using a basic search box, or browse in various categories including Foundation Entries, Pioneers, Other Entries, and Series.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
An online research tool which assists in the understanding of research methods and in the actual selection, design, and application of a research method. It contains full-text content from books, journals, and reference resources.
This resource should be of interest to anyone involved in any form of qualitative or quantitative research. It assists in the understanding of research methods and in the actual selection, design, and application of a research method.

Content is sourced from book and reference material on research materials, together with editorially selected material from SAGE journals. More than 120,000 pages of SAGE's book and reference material on research methods are available.

Searching and browsing features include:
* a browsing tool to allow users to explore related material hosted within the product;
* a visual "methods map" exploring connections between more than 2,000 methods, theories, and terms;
* the "SRMO lists" function, which enables users to store and share selected content;
* links to Web Resources.

Library

Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) Guide: Research Methods

Why use SAGE Research Methods?

SAGE Research Methods Overview

Using SAGE Research Methods to do a Literature Review