Skip to main content

Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) Guide: Saving Search Alerts

This guide supports the Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) course

searching journal titles

In addition to using databases to search for information about particular topics, you can also use them to look up entire journals. Why might you do this? There could be a journal that covers a topic particularly well, so it could be a good idea to browse that journal more closely.

If you have trouble finding them in a database, pop into Primo Search instead - it is particularly good at locating which of the Library's journal databases provide access to specific journals or look at the journal titles listed in the Business Library Resource Guides.

Saving searches and creating alerts

Most databases provide the option to save your searches and set up alerts to help you keep up to date with the latest research. To do this you will need to create an account within a database which is separate from your CSU login.

  • A search alert will be sent to you after you have saved a database search that you run periodically.
  • A table of contents (ToC) alert will allow you to receive the table of contents lists for selected recent journal issues.

To find out how to set this up within different databases see the Library's Keep up to date with the literature website.

Additional features in Proquest

This video shows how to make use of additional features within the ProQuest database, including saving searches, combining searches, creating search alerts and exporting citations into EndNote.