Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEO204 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Which Databases should I choose?

The Soil & Water Sciences Library Guide provides a list of relevant journals and databases. 

Visit the Environmental Science Journal Databases listing for all potentially useful databases in your area. Note that you don't have to use every database for every assignment - but nor should you restrict your search to one database only.

Don't forget, you can also use Primo Search and Google Scholar to locate journal articles.

ProQuest Natural Science

A collection of three databases in the ProQuest platform: Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection; Biological Science Collection; and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Sciences Collection. Content is sourced from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Use ProQuest Natural Science Collection to try searching for keywords soil colour AND organic matter OR humus OR soil formation OR vegetation. Use could also consider using organic matter as a phrase search by using the quotation marks, for example "organic matter".

Note - You may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password

Searching in a database

Full Text

Sometimes you will read that a database is 'full text', or that an article can be found in 'full text'. 'Full text' means that the entire document is available online. When a database carries an article in full text there will be a hyperlink to view it as either a PDF or html document. Not all journal databases contain full text.

If an article is not available in full text you may be able to locate it in another database. Clicking on the Find itbutton will allow you to check if the article is available elsewhere. 

Want to learn more about journal databases?

  • The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching. 
  • We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases. 

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.