Skip to Main Content

International Law: UN Documents

UN Databases

United Nations

In 1920, the First Assembly of the League of Nations convened in Geneva.  Established by the Treaty of Versailles, their objective was to develop cooperation among nations and to guarantee them peace and security.

The League was replaced in 1945, by the United Nations, established under the Charter of Nations and is currently made up of 193 member states.

The main bodies of the United Nations include

  • General Assemblymain deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the UN.
  • Security Council - primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security.
  • Economic and Social Council - principal body for coordination, policy review, policy dialogue and recommendations on economic, social and environmental issues, as well as implementation of internationally agreed development goals.
  • Trusteeship Council - provide international supervision for 11 Trust Territories that had been placed under the administration of seven Member States, and ensure that adequate steps were taken to prepare the Territories for self-government and independence.
  • International Court of Justice -  principal judicial organ of the United Nations.
  • Secretariat -  Secretary-General and tens of thousands of international UN staff members who carry out the day-to-day work of the UN as mandated by the General Assembly and the Organization's other principal organs.

United Nations

Small Flag of the United Nations ZP.svg
Public Domain, Link

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.