Library Guides: Business Ethics and Sustainability: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Dictionary of corporate Social Responsibility by Idowu, S. O., et al (Eds)
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society by Kolb, R. W. (Ed)
Publication Date: 2007
The Routledge companion to business ethics by Heath, E., Kaldis, B. & Marcoux, A. (Eds)
Publication Date: 2018

Quick links

eBook collections

Emerald Insight
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.

All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
Wiley Online Library
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.

Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.

Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.

Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.

The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
ProQuest eBook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central, is a huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks.
You can search for books by keyword or use the Browse subjects option and select Business/management to see relevant titles. Once in a subject list you can then search within the results to narrow your results further.

There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

EBSCOhost (Business)
A package of five EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Business-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes the important business database, Business Source Complete.

The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* Business Source Complete;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Emerald Insight
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.

All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
ProQuest Business Databases
A package of ProQuest databases all with business-, economics-, and management-related material. These databases can also be searched individually or in any combination.

This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 10 databases with business-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. Some of these databases are the business subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

All but one of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find a copy links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The specific databases are:
* ABI/Inform Collection itself a package of 3 databases
* Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
* Asian & European Collection
* Business Market Research Collection
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Business
* Career & Technical Education Database: Business
* COS Conference Papers Index does not include full-text material
* Ebook Central results from this collection will appear in a separate tab
* India Database: Business
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
* Research Library: Business.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Taylor and Francis Online
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text. Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers. From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. A suggested category to browse is Economics, Finance, Business & Industry and the subcategory Corporate Social Responsibility & Business Ethics

Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.

From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt University are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.

One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online to users is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.

While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find link to search for the full item in other Library-subscribed resources.

Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.

See all Business, Management, Marketing and WHS databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use journal databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Company and industry information

Company and industry information Library Resource Guide
See recommended library databases, useful websites, search tips and search demonstrations to help you find company and industry reports and information.

Websites

The Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Provides information and resources related to business and human rights. It reports on the human rights impacts of companies worldwide, covering 6,000 companies in over 180 countries.
Australian Human Rights Commission: Business and Human Rights
The Commission works with business, government and civil society stakeholders to promote the implementation of the UNGPs, and other relevant frameworks.
Business for Social Responsibility
A global nonprofit business network and consultancy dedicated to sustainability.
Ethisphere resource centre
Access research, editorial, reports, videos and the World's Most Ethical Companies reports and trend analysis.
Global Reporting Initiative
An independent, international organization. GRI provide widely used standards for sustainability reporting covering topics including anti-corruption, biodiversity, tax, emissions and more.

Professional organisations

Institute of Business Ethics
A UK based organisation that promotes high standards of business practice based on ethical values.
International Business Ethics Institute
An organisation dedicated to transnationalism in the field of applied business ethics, and specializing in global ethics training.
Australasian Business Ethics Network
A community of scholars and practitioners from a range of institutions. Areas of interest include corporate responsibility, environmental ethics, social and environmental sustainability.
The Markkula Center for Applied Ethics: Business Ethics
Access commentary, articles, case studies and more, relevant to ethical issues in corporate governance, global business, leadership, executive compensation, and other areas of business ethics.