It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
A searchable archive of full-text journals, covering all subject areas. It is an archive of back-files only and does not include current issues. The collection also includes eBooks.
In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.
Charles Sturt does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.
In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.
You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A ProQuest database of about 500 titles covering: art, design, crafts and photography; archaeology, anthropology, and classical studies; architecture, interior design and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography, and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, and film.
Other subjects covered include ethnic and area studies, politics, economics, and women's studies.
Sources include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals, and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to the applied arts and cultural studies.
The Arts & Humanities Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. To go to a package of Arts databases, click on the The arts databases link in the breadcrumb trail at the top of the Arts & Humanities Database search screen. Alternatively, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail.
A commercial image bank of fine art images from around the world.
Bridgeman Art Library, also known as Bridgeman Images, is a commercial online image bank of images covering more than 8000 collections and 29,000 artists. All images have been catalogued with full picture data, with keywords added to help searching, and the database includes Quick and Advanced Search.
Bridgeman Art Library claims to "represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users" and to provide "an archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world, all of which are available for licensing".
So its main purpose is to make images of artworks available for commercial use. This means that there are limitations on use, and users accessing this resource will be taken via a webpage where they need to indicate that they agree with these conditions.
Bridgeman Art Library is similar to, but not exactly the same as, Bridgeman Education. There are differences in content and functionality. Bridgeman Education is recommended as it is a subscription resource.
A combination of the Grove Art Online resource and three Oxford art reference publications: the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1st edition), and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Art Online is the gateway to the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference publications in one location.
It also includes links to image partners including ARTstor; Bridgeman Education; the British Museum; the Museum of Modern Art (New York); the Metropolitan Museum of Art; Art Images for College Teaching; Art Resource; Artists Rights Society; and numerous international art galleries and artists.
A package of ProQuest databases all with arts-related material. Includes ProQuest's Arts & Humanities Database, and Performing Arts Periodicals Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 8 databases with arts-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. The list of databases below gives an indication of subject coverage. Some of these databases are the arts subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.
The specific databases are:
* Arts & Humanities Database
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: The Arts
* Career & Technical Education Database: The Arts
* India Database: The Arts
* Performing Arts Periodicals Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
* Religion Database
* Research Library: The Arts.
Once in the ProQuest interface, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail at the top left of the ProQuest screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A collection of online streaming videos from Alexander Street Press, covering art history and theory, and architectural and graphic design. Part of the wider VAST: Academic Video Online collection.
Specific topics covered include art history and theory, contemporary art, modern art, neoclassicism, Renaissance art, Romanticism, architectural design, and graphic design.
Content includes documentaries and interviews.
The collection can be searched using Basic or Advanced Search, and/or browsed in a number of ways. The collection has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource:
* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.
Once in this database you can search/browse in other disciplines in the VAST collection. You can also access the full VAST collection at VAST: Academic Video Online. You can search/browse across all the Alexander Street Press video collections at Alexander Street Press Video.
Catalogues raisonnés — scholarly compilations of an artist's body of work — are critical tools for researching the provenance and attribution of artwork. IFAR has developed a database of published catalogues raisonnés and one of catalogues in preparation.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.