Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THL111: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The theology databases will be particularly useful for your study. Coverage includes Ministry, Christianity and church history. 

TRY IT NOW

Go to the ATLA Religion Database database, and try typing in one of the search strategies you created earlier (you may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password).

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search?  Being a  theology database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it at CSU button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

How to video

My EBSCOhost

If you're searching EBSCOhost regularly you might find it useful to set up a My EBSCOhost account.

This will allow you to

  • save your past searches
  • save search results
  • create search alerts - notification via email when new search results become available
  • create journal alerts - notification via email when new journals issues are published

You can find the instructions for setting up a My EBSCOhost  account here.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.