Digital collections containing open access (OA) publications, including reports, journal articles, conference papers, data and theses.

• AustLII - free online access to Australasian, and some international, legal materials
• Australian Bureau of Statistics - Australian statistics, most available free
• Cochrane Library - free (in Australia) access to international evidence-based healthcare resources, with much in full-text.
• CORE - find and access full-text (typically PDF format) content from many OA journals, repositories and systems
• CSU Research Output (CRO)
• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAJ - academic peer-reviewed books and book chapters from 300+ publishers
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - academic peer-reviewed journals 
• ERIC (Education Resource and Information Center) - the largest education database in the world, with much free content
• Knowledge Unlatched - monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines
• OAA list of Australasian Repositories
• OAPEN - academic books in humanities and social sciences
• OpenDOAR - international directory of OA repositories and their policies
• PLOS ONE - an online, international, peer-reviewed, open access science publication
• Primo Search - limit search results to 'Open Access'
• PubMed Central - a free online collection of life sciences and medical sciences journal literature
• SAGE Open - an open access, peer-reviewed journal in the humanities and social sciences
• SPARC (Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition) repository resources
• Taylor & Francis Open - access to peer-reviewed journals across a range of subjects
• Unpaywall - an open database of free scholarly articles

Other Library databases where search results can be easily limited to OA content, e.g. Scopus

The Public Access section of a Google Scholar profile contains publicly available articles. 

An article can be publicly available from several sources, including its publisher, an institutional repository, a research area-specific repository and others. The Google Scholar indexing system tries to include all publicly accessible versions that follow their inclusion guidelines.

For more information, see: https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/citations.html#publicaccess

Is it accurate? 

Like other aspects of Google Scholar profiles, the data is flawed. It may say papers are not freely available when, in fact, they are, and it may also wrongly attribute the funding source. 

You can make corrections to your Google Scholar profile by following the advice on this webpage. 

Should researchers make their papers publicly available by uploading them to Google Drive? 

Google invites researchers to make their research publicly available by uploading a PDF to Google Drive. This option should only be used as a last resort. This is because Google Drive: 

• Lacks a clear commitment to long-term preservation and access 
• Does not make your research easily discoverable outside the Google ecosystem, so your work may never reach your audience.

How can researchers comply with open access mandates and ensure their audience can access their work? 

Depositing your research papers in CRO is the best and most secure way to ensure you comply with funders’ open access mandates. CRO also ensures your research has visibility, reaching the largest audience possible, and has impact.