Skip to Main Content

Higher Degree Research (Faculty of Business, Justice, Behavioural Sciences): Accessing resources

A guide to support Higher Degree Research candidates with preparation of Research Proposal and Draft Literature Review for RES701, RES702 and RES703

What is Primo Search?

Primo Search allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of the Charles Sturt University Library collection, such as:

  • Books, eBooks, DVDs and journals
  • Most online journal articles and newspaper articles
  • Charles Sturt University research papers and theses

Enter your search terms, and then use the links on the results screen to refine your results, view online material, or locate physical resources.

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Databases page.

The Databases Help guide is a great place to start for search tips.

Library Resource Guides

The Library has collated a number of Library Resource Guides that link you to the key journal databases, ebook collections and other resources in a subject area. Subject areas include (select the Guides tab to access the full list of guides):

Finding theses & dissertations

Existing theses and dissertations can be a useful source to help identify the existing knowledge on a topic and the key resources on a topic. This can help you determine any potential gaps or crossovers for your research topic.

Past Charles Sturt University theses are held by the Library. Electronic copies of theses from 2009 onwards are available in the CSU Research Output (CRO) repository as PDFs. CSU Library also subscribes to various theses and dissertation databases.

For more information about locating theses from other institutions, go to the Library's Theses & Dissertations page.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to locate resources such as articles, theses and books.

It searches everything - unlike Primo Search which is set to search the Library's holdings only – so some resources will not be available to you.

Set up Library Links to access CSU Library's online resources using these instructions.

Charles Sturt Psychology Resource Library

Psychology Resource Library

The Psychology Resource Library is operated by the School of Psychology (Bathurst campus) at Charles Sturt University. The Psychology Resource Library provides a wide range of resources such as psychological tests, equipment, reference materials, copies of CSU psychology student dissertations and theses, and educational materials such as DVDs.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.