Structure of a business report

Report component and purpose Instructions

Component: Executive Summary

(sometimes called an abstract)

Purpose: to sum up the entire report

(In the real world, this is often the only section of the report that is read.)

Include, in paragraph form, a summary of :

  • The purpose of the report (why it was written)
  • The problem and how it was investigated
  • What you found out and what you concluded
  • Your recommendations and limitation on these (if applicable). 
Component: Table of contents List the report topics using decimal notation. Include the main headings and sub headings with corresponding page numbers, using a format that makes the hierarchy of the topics clear.

Component: Introductions

Purpose: to introduce the topic and objectives of the report

Set the scene; give some background information about the topic. State the aim/purpose of the investigation. Explain the research methods. Outline the sections of the report.

Note: The introduction differs from the executive summary as it introduced the topic, whereas an executive summary summaries each section of the report including the findings and recommendations. Findings and recommendations are not included in an introduction.

Component: Body of the report or discussion

Purpose: to discuss information relevant to the report's objectives and analyse the data that was gathered.

 Organise the sections in a logical sequence: what you investigated, what you found. Include examples to back up your ideas, with particular reference to what you found in research.
Component: Conclusion Sum up what has been achieved and the significance of your findings and your discussion. Have your aims been successful or not? Bring everything together. Do not include new information.
Component: Recommendations What do you recommend as a course of action in light of your findings? Always make sure that the recommendations flow from the conclusions.
Component: List of references List all the sources you referred to in your report in accordance with APA referencing style.

Faust, J. (2013) General components used in a report [PowerPoint slide]. Retrieved from ALLaN Team resources: Charles Sturt University

What information do you need?

You will need a range of company and industry information. This will include:

  • company reports and documentation such as annual reports, strategic planning, competitor information
  • industry and market reports (Identify the industry. You can find the ANZSIC Code here which can be helpful to use for your searches)
  • news sources discussing the industry and companies
  • industry and company data

Try using the library database Connect 4 - Annual Reports to find full-text annual reports for any companies listed on the ASX since 1992.

Research Strategy for Five Forces Analysis

This table directs you to our different library databases where you can analyse the five forces.

Five Forces
Where to research: Selecting and searching in databases.
Buyers

1. IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Major Markets, Demand Determinants
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition

2. Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream OR Factiva - use keywords to search news articles and trade publications

3. Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) - economic and financial statistics
Suppliers

1. IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Products & Markets: Supply Chain
  • Major Companies: Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Cost Structure Benchmarks

2. Use company's public investor relations webpage to identify suppliers
Competitive rivalry

1. D&B Hoovers Company Information:

  • Advanced: Competitors, Closest Industry Peers, Closest Companies
  • Industry Information: Challenges, Trends & Opportunities

2. IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Major Players
  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition, Barriers to Entry, Market Share Concentration
  • Operating Conditions: Capital Intensity
  • Industry Life Cycle
  • Industry Outlook

3.Business Source Complete and/or ABI/INFORM Collection - locate company profiles (includes information on competitors)
Potential new entrants

1. IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Barriers to entry & Cost Structure Benchmarks
  • Operating Conditions: Regulation & Policy, Industry Assistance, Technology & Systems
Firms with substitute products

1. Business Source Complete OR ABI/INFORM Collection OR ANZ Newsstream - use keywords  to search news articles and trade publications

2. IBIS World Industry Report menus:

  • Competitive Landscape: Basis of Competition
  • About this industry: Similar Industries, Related International Industries