Library Guides: Project Management: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

A guide to the project management body of knowledge by Project Management Group
Publication Date: 2017
Project management handbook by Kuster J., et al.
Publication Date: 2015
The AMA handbook of project management by Dinsmore, P. C., & Cabanis-Brewin, J.
Publication Date: 2014

Quick links

eBook collections

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of eBooks and other resources, including videos and training resources, mainly in the areas of information technology and business. To access content on this site you need to follow a login process. See more … below.
This collection was previously known as Safari Books Online and previously contained only a relatively small number of eBooks. It now contains more than 35,000 items.

Specific topics covered include career development; cloud computing; data science; design; digital and network security; hardware; machine learning & artificial intelligence; mathematics, science & engineering; programming languages; software development; and system administration.

Content includes eBooks, videos, case studies, Learning Paths, and "Oriole" tutorials.

To log in from the O’Reilly login page:
• Enter your Charles Sturt email address or use student@csu.edu.au
• Click on the Sign in link or click in the password box (you don’t need to enter a password at this point)
• Click on Sign in with Single Sign On
• At the Charles Sturt login page, use your Charles Sturt username and password.

For more information, see the O'Reilly for Higher Education page in the Library's eBooks Guide.
Taylor and Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.

You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.

When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.

You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.

When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.
Specific topics covered include business, economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management theory and techniques, marketing, business trends, product development and information, and industry conditions.

Included in the database is the Wall Street Journal, with full-text access back to 1984.

The database also includes non-periodical content such as EIU ViewsWire - covering business and economic events from across the globe - and ProQuest Business Dissertations - access to over 18,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

Database coverage is from 1971 to current.

ABI/INFORM Collection actually consists of three subsidiary databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline; ABI/INFORM Global; and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination. For a broader collection of databases in the business area, try ProQuest's subject package of Business Databases.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database covering management, finance, international business, economics, accounting, marketing, and tourism.
Content includes more than 4,200 journals, of which more than 2,800 are peer-reviewed, plus other non-journal content. Much of the material is available in full-text.

Coverage (not necessarily full-text) extends back to 1886; updating is daily.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also part of the EBSCOhost (Business) databases package. Once you are in the EBSCOhost platform, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest is a provider of a huge range of databases covering all subject areas, and including a range of sources. Most of these databases include full-text material, but some, particularly in the environmental sciences area, are databases of abstracts only.
Subject strengths include biological science, earth & environmental sciences, general science, business, education, health & medicine, and social sciences.

Sources include mainly journals, but there are two specialised database of interest:
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - an important database of dissertations and theses from America and Europe;
* ANZ Newsstream - a database of Australian and New Zealand newspaper articles.

The link here takes you to searching across ALL the ProQuest databases. Once in the ProQuest platform, you can pick and choose from the menu of databases by clicking on the Change Databases tab in the top menu.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of publications from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners, including the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). These organisations are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.
Subject content includes electrical and electronics engineering, computer science, and associated topics such as aerospace engineering, biomedical sciences, geosciences, physics, medical imaging, digital animation and media, and telecommunications.

The main content that you have access to in IEEE Xplore is the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL), which includes access to full text articles published since 1988 (and select content published since 1893) from:
* more than 150 IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines;
* 25 IET journals and magazines;
* proceedings from more than 1000 IEEE and IET annual conferences;
* more than 2,100 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields;
* the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.

You also have access to:
* the VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings, which include AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from more than 20 annual conference titles. [VDE Verlag is a European technical/scientific publisher]; and to
* individual online journals, including access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology and from IEEE Transactions on Image Processing.

Updating is weekly, and more than 25,000 new IEEE/IET articles are added each month.

See all Business databases, Engineering databases, and Information Technology databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Websites

Project Management Guide by Wrike
Curated best practices, and resources for project management beginners.
Project Management Docs
Offers free PM templates developed by certified Project Managers and organized according to PMBOK® process group.
Project Management Tips
A one-stop shop for PM answers with access to over 4,000 articles from industry experts, Deliverable Templates to save you time and effort, peer connections and experts to offer specific advice.
ProjectManager.com
Provides project management professionals with industry news, information, tools, and blogs, on how to start, manage and close a project.

Professional organisations

Australian Institute of Project Management (AIPM)
The longest-serving body for project management in Australia recognised by business, industry and government as the key promoter, developer and leader in project management professionalism.
International Project Management Association (IPMA)
A Federation of over 60 Member Associations that develops relationships with corporations, government agencies, universities and colleges, as well as training organizations and consulting companies.
Project Management Institute (PMI)
Provides globally recognized standards, certification program, extensive academic and market research programs, chapters, and volunteer and professional development opportunities.