Library Guides: HLT505 Research Skills Guide: Other Databases

Database packages for Health and Medicine

If you want to search more widely than CINAHL Plus with Full Text, but wish to remain in the EBSCOhost platform/interface, then you can try:

EBSCOhost (Health) This link opens in a new window
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Note that, if you choose to search in more than database, you won't be able to use CINAHL's Suggest Subject Terms feature.

ProQuest is another database platform with a number of databases that cover nursing, health, and medicine. These databases are available in the combined package:

ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
A package of ProQuest databases all with health-and-medicine-related material. You can also search these databases individually or in any combination. Includes MEDLINE (1946 - current) and Nursing and Allied Health Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 13 databases with health/medicine-related material. Some of these databases are the health-and-medicine subset of a larger database.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Consumer Health Database
* Health & Medical Collection
* Healthcare Administration Database
* MEDLINE (1946 - current)
* Nursing & Allied Health Database
* Psychology Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
* Public Health Database
* TOXLINE - does not include full-text material.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Searching in Scopus

Scopus is known as a citation index because the article records included lists of citing articles. This means that, if you find an article of interest, you can look at subsequent articles that have cited it. You can find important articles on a topic, and follow research paths.

Scopus is a multi-subject database, but does cover the Health Sciences - medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary science, and the health professions - as well as the life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences & humanities.

Using Scopus to find citing articles

When you get a results list in Scopus, one of the columns that displays is Cited by. This shows the number of articles (indexed in Scopus) that have cited the article. Clicking on the number will display brief records of those citing articles.

Scopus results lists are, by default, be sorted by Relevance. You can change this to Cited by (highest) or Cited by (lowest).

You can use this feature of Scopus to:

follow a research path forwards and find related articles
find seminal articles on a topic.