Library Guides: Statistics, Standards, Patents &amp; Trademarks: Standards

What are standards?

Standards are published documents setting out specifications and procedures to ensure products, services and systems are safe and reliable. Below are some key sites for Australian and International standards organisations.

Standards

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
This database from SAI Global provides full-text access to all Australian Standards, plus abstracts and contents information for other international standards such as ISO and IEC. To access the full-text of a Standard, you will need to register: for instructions see the box below.
You can search the collection by title, number, keyword, scope, or publication dates. You can limit your search to Australian Standards only, or search all the Standards databases.

You can view online, print, or save as a PDF.

You will need to have a PDF reader on your device in order to download and read Standards offline. When you click on the Download button, you will see instructions for downloading a standard. We suggest that you follow these instructions and then ensuring that you open the standard from the file folder and NOT in your browser.

Downloaded files will be watermarked with your email address, there are limited print options and restrictions on sharing and copy/pasting. More information can be found on the DRM Explained page and in the FAQs.

Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)
Provides the Food Standard code and related information for the food industry and consumers
ISO - International Organization for Standardization
ISO is an independent organisation marketing more than 20,500 international standards, covering almost every industry.
National Information Standards Organization
A United Nations organisation that creates and maintains voluntary standards for managing information
American National Standards Institute - ANSI
Develops America's standards and provides information about them
ASTM International
Contains over 12,000 global standards, across multiple disciplines and industries.
BSI Group
The British Standards Institution develops and provides business standards
CSA - Canadian Standards Association
Develops and provides access to Canadian standards

Downloading from Standards Online

You will need to have a PDF reader on your device to download PDFs from Standards Online to read offline. PDFs will not open correctly in a browser.

When you click on the Download button, you will see instructions for downloading a standard. Follow the on screen instructions and then ensure you open the standard from the file folder and NOT in your browser.

Using Standards Online

Help from a librarian

1800 275 278

Online chat

Email us

Book an appointment