Hi. I'm Tracie, your embedded librarian and I've created this guide to help you with your research for EMG100.
Each section introduces the steps you should take when researching for an assessment. You'll find links to videos and resources that will give you the tools to find great information. Use the activities on the test your knowledge tab to see what you need to revise.
If you would like an introduction to our Library website and services, check out:
Getting started with your assessment
The first thing is to make sure you clearly understand the task and what topic you are seeking information for, this is called topic analysis. Check your assessment task details in your Subject Outline.
With an understanding of your task you then need to plan how you will search for information. This starts with identifying and brainstorming keywords.
From your assessment task:
|Keywords*||Synonyms or related terms|
|preparedness of community||emergency preparedness, public education/information, community awareness, prediction, warning systems, training, hazard identification and mitigation, response plans...|
|event impact||disaster recovery, environmental change, survivor care, impact study, redevelopment, rehabilitation...|
|command, control and coordination||emergency response, first responders, evacuation, damage assessment, communication, search, rescue, quarantine, relief centres, information sharing...|
*You also need to identify keywords and brainstorm alternative terms relevant to your emergency event.
For guidance in topic analysis check out:
Choose the right place to search
Before you start searching, think about what types of information you need and where you can search to find those types of resources.
Primo Search is a good place to start as it allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of our Library collection including books, eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles and more. You may get a large number of results and some of these will be from outside your subject/discipline area. Check the content is relevant to your assessment task before you use it.
Databases will help you find academic resources and are often subject specific. You will get fewer results than Primo, but they will be more relevant to your subject/discipline.
I recommend trying the following databases:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive package of databases in the ProQuest platform, covering the natural and applied sciences.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
The Emergency Management, Policing & Public Safety databases list has more databases you can search.
Learn how to search efficiently in Primo and Library databases:
The Internet is a great place to locate background information and additional resources outside of scholarly publications. Learn some tips and tricks you can implement to make the most out of Google Search and improve the relevance and quality of your results:
Google Scholar allows you to locate resources such as articles, theses and books. Unlike Primo Search, which is set to search the Library's holdings only, Google Scholar searches beyond Charles Sturt University Library and will include resources that are not available to you. Set up Library Links to access the Library's online resources using these instructions:
Create a search strategy
When you search using Primo Search or a library database use the keywords and limits you identified above to create your search. Combine the keywords with "search operators", rather than searching with a whole sentence or question. Search operators tell Primo or the database how to search with your keywords.
For your assessment topic potential search strings could include:
- "emergency management" AND "emergency preparedness"
- "emergency preparedness" AND (education OR training)
- emergency AND (response OR "response plan*)
Remember: you will need to try a range of searches. Don't stop after just one.
To understand how search operators work check out:
Using credible information will improve the quality of your assessment and may result in better marks, but how can you tell whether the resources you've found are credible and suitable for your assessment? Have you been asked to use peer reviewed, academic or refereed articles? Are you using authoritative websites?
The information below will help you evaluate the information you find, in books, journal articles, or online to make sure it’s reliable.
Keen for more?
If you're interested in finding out more, check out the following:
Reading, writing and referencing
The Academic Skills team help you build your writing, referencing and reading skills to be successful at Uni.
Check out their support and resources under Learning Skills in the Student Portal.
Here are some pages to get you started:
We'd love your feedback!
Complete our 2 min survey to let us know what you think of this guide.
Your textbook is available online through the library!
However access to your textbook is limited. Follow the best practice in the video below to ensure you have access to what you need without disadvantaging other students in your subject.
- Assignment and thesis writing byPublication Date: 2001Book
- Disaster management: A disaster manager's handbook byPublication Date: 2008eBook
Search skills demonstration
Watch this video for an overview of the library services and how to search for information.