With CSIRO eBooks you can:
* read online
* search within the book
* download the entire book as a PDF
* navigate to and download individual chapters as PDFs.

If you search using the search box at the top right of screen, you will get results for both books and book-chapters, and your results will include items that are not necessarily available in full-text. Books and book-chapters that are available in full-text are marked with a tick; items that are not available in full-text are marked with a locked padlock.

You can browse the collection under the subject-headings listed above, which are listed as tabs across each page. Or search using a search box which is also on each page. You can select which subject area(s) you search in.

Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, displayed as PDF files. You can download or print or email material for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (see Terms and Conditions).

There is no limit on the number of concurrent users.

There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.

The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.

Updating is weekly.

You can access the other CAB Abstracts packages from the Ovid databases menu.

This resource is a collection of about 30 entirely full-text Australian journals published by CSIRO Publishing. The website has a tab for, and lists of, books and CDs, but it is the journals to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes, and which are available in full-text. These cover a broad range of scientific disciplines including mainly agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.

The collection can be searched or browsed. Searching can be limited to a journal or a number of journals. The searching functionality is not very sophisticated, and users are advised to check the Search hints link which is available on the Advanced Search screen. Some users prefer to use another index, such as Web of Science Core Collection or Scopus as a searching tool, and then use the Find it links to link to the full-text within CSIRO Electronic Journals.

Coverage varies with title, but in some cases extends back to the early 1900s. All articles are available in PDF format.

The collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on conservation, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.

Key journals that are available in full-text include Conservation Biology; International Journal of Green Energy; Journal of Ecology; Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, and Journal of Wildlife Management. Other key journals that are indexed only include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment; Bioscience; and Forest Ecology & Management.

GreenFILE is provided free by EBSCOhost and so contains relatively less full-text material than other EBSCOhost databases. However, for articles where the full-text is not provided, you can use the Find it - CSU links to search for the full article if available in another database.

GreenFILE is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

 

 

You can search the three subsidiary collections individually if you wish:
* Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection covers the Agricultural Science, AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), Environmental Impact Statements (EIS), and Environmental Science databases
* Biological Science Collection covers the Biological Science, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases
* Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Sciences Collection covers the Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science Database, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA).

Content is sourced from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Topics include: agriculture; aquatic sciences; biology; climate and weather; conservation; earth sciences; environmental science; fish and fisheries; food and food industries; forestry; geography; geology; life sciences; natural sciences; physical sciences; sustainability; and water resources.

The date range is from 1946 - current.

More information is available from ProQuest's Natural Science Collection LibGuide.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. There are two broader collections of science and technology databases: ProQuest's SciTech Premium Collection, and ProQuest's subject package of Science and Technology Databases.

Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.

Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.

To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.

You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.

You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. You can also filter by article type or to book chapters.

For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.

Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.

Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database, and the eBook collections ClinicalKey Student: Nursing and ClinicalKey Student: Medicine.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which offers coverage of more than 22,000 journals, and more than 150,000 books, from more than 5,000 publishers. There are nearly 70 million records and 1.4 billion cited references. Most records date since 1996 but Scopus has recently added records dated from 1970 - 1995.

Scopus does not in itself include the full-text of articles, but many records in a results list will have a View at publisher link. If that link doesn't work, use the Find it link to search for the full article via Primo Search.

Subject coverage includes: 
* Life Sciences 
* Health Sciences 
* Physical Sciences 
* Social Sciences & Humanities.

Scopus has a number of specialised features relating to bibliometrics which are mainly used by higher degree researchers. But one feature that might have wider application is the ability to use the View Cited By function to find articles that cite your selected articles(s). You can also sort your results list by citation count.

A note on access for academic/research staff: If you are academic/research staff and require access to your Charles Sturt researcher profile, please use this link - https://www.scopus.com - and sign in using the "Access through your Institution" option. Type Charles Sturt University into the search box and follow the prompts.

Details of the 6 databases are:
* Web of Science Core Collection - a collection of 5 citation indexes and 2 chemical indexes, where you can, amongst other things, find citing articles (i.e. articles that have cited a specific reference);
* Current Contents Connect - a current awareness product which includes tables of contents and citations from journals from all disciplines;
* KCI-Korean Journal Database - features research emanating from South Korea, and covers about 2,000 scholarly journals;
* MEDLINE - the well-known international health and medicine database, produced by the (US) National Library of Medicine;
* Russian Science Citation Index - covers Russian research in fields such as engineering, materials science, and ecology, with more than 600 journals indexed;
* SciELO Citation Index (Scientific Electronic Library Online) - a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals, which includes regional journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.

These databases can be searched together ("All Databases", which is the default) or individually. To change to a single database, click on the drop-down arrow beside All Databases in the main tab-bar of the Web of Science screen.

Most of the articles in this databases don't have the full-text attached, but you can use the Find it button, situated beneath each record, to locate the full-text in another online database or in a campus library print holding.