It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find eBooks purchased by the Library using Primo Search. Enter your keyword search and use the Refine my results options to limit the results to Books that are Available online. Alternatively, use the search box below.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A free Australian database of Evidence-Based Practice material for Speech Pathology.
speechBITE is a free Australian online database of Intervention studies across Speech Pathology practice. It is an Evidence-Based Practice initiative of the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
Studies in this database include Systematic Reviews (SRs), Randomised Controlled Trials (RCTs), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCTs), Case Series (CS), and Single Case Experimental Designs (SCEDs). Citations and sometimes abstracts are provided. The full-text of these items is not necessarily included, though there might be links to full-text.
With some items, methodological ratings are included to allow users to discern the scientific quality of each research study.
You might also be interested in NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE), a free database of Evidence-Based Practice material relating to acquired brain impairment.
A free Australian database of Evidence-Based Medicine material on psychological problems and issues resulting from acquired brain impairment.
NeuroBITE includes records of studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a result of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are evaluated and rated for various aspects of scientific rigour.
Studies in this database include Synthesised Studies (Practice Guidelines; Systematic Reviews); Group Studies (Randomised Controlled Trials; Non-Randomised Controlled Trials; Case Series); and Single Case Designs (Experimental; Non-Experimental).
Some of the citations include links to full-text.
NeuroBITE is similar to 3 other Evidence-Based Practice databases, all developed in Australia - OTseeker; PEDro; and speechBITE - but it differs from them in three important ways: it is multidisciplinary; it tends to contain a broader range of levels of evidence; and it is specific to acquired brain impairment.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including more than 1,050 full-text journals), and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.
Coverage is from 1986 present.
Nursing and Allied Health Source is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
MedlinePlus is a consumer-health site that brings together authoritative information from the (U.S.) National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organisations.
Created and maintained by Caroline Bowen, a speech therapist based in NSW and author of Developmental phonological disorders, this site contains links to numerous speech language resources, directories, listservs and sites of professional interest.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.