It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find eBooks purchased by the Library using Primo Search. Enter your keyword search and use the Refine my results options to limit the results to Books that are Available online. Alternatively, use the search box below.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
ERIC is the largest education database in the world, and is sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. It is available here as an EBSCOhost database, with much material available in full-text.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is one of many databases available in the EBSCOhost platform, but is also available elsewhere as well (see below). Established in 1966, ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It provides extensive access to educational-related literature, and is said to be the largest education database in the world. It includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records.
There are two types of ERIC content:
* Journal articles(EJ). Most are from peer-reviewed journals, and many are available in full-text, depending on the version of ERIC being used (see below).
* ERIC Documents (ED). These consist of materials from a range of sources, including scholarly organisations, professional associations, research centres, policy organisations, University Presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other U.S. federal agencies, and state and local agencies. They include conference papers, research papers, dissertations, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Many are available in full-text.
Subject coverage includes:
* Adult, career and vocational education
* Elementary and early childhood education
* Education management
* Higher education
* Junior colleges
* Second-language learning
* Special education
* Teacher education
* Tests, measurement, and evaluation
A thesaurus is available to assist with subject-searching.
Charles Sturt Library has access to ERIC via 3 different platforms/interfaces. In addition to this EBSCOhost version, ERIC is also available via the ProQuest platform, and via the ERIC website. These versions differ in their interface, the frequency of updating, and the amount of full-text content.
A ProQuest database of around 900 journals, including more than 600 in full-text. This database can, and probably should, be used in conjunction with ERIC (ProQuest version).
ProQuest Education Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform.
Subject coverage includes not only primary, secondary, and higher education, but also special needs education, home schooling, adult education, teacher education, and other related topics.
Once in the ProQuest interface, users can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the Change databases link at the top left of the search screen. Other education-related databases in ProQuest include the important education database, ERIC. You can, and probably should search ProQuest Education Journals and ERIC together, to exploit the advantages of each.
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.
From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt University are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.
One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online to users is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.
While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find link to search for the full item in other Library-subscribed resources.
Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.
Early Childhood Australia (ECA) is an advocacy organisation supporting Children, Families and Early Childhood Educators with issues relating to education and care of children between birth and 8 years.
Reimagine Australia is the support and services provided for infants and young children with developmental delays and disabilities. Reimagine provides a national focus and forum for early Childhood Intervention.
Outlines information specific to each state/territory regarding the relevant child safety screening legislation, including the settings where employees are required to undergo pre-employment screening.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.