Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Should You Use Journal Databases?
best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
help you locate articles peer reviewed Are
subject specific, so that you get more relevant results Have many options for
You can find the Library's databases on the
A-Z Journal Databases page.
Databases are grouped into subject areas. The
Theology and Religious Studies set will be particularly useful for your study. Humanities databases which include history, archeology, and philosophy are also helpful. The databases produced by Oxford University and Cambridge University also contain many relevant journals. These include Oxford Biblical Studies Online, Oxford Journals online and Cambridge Core.
TRY IT NOW
Go to the and try typing in American Theological Library Association (ATLA) database old testament literary history (you may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password).
Did you get less results than Primo Search? Being a theology database, your results should be more closely related and relevant to your topic.
Use the tools within the Refine Results box on left of screen to limit to full text articles.
Use Publication Date to restrict results to material published within last 20 years.
Scroll down to Language box to eliminate items published in languages other than English.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
Be aware that items marked as "Review" will be book reviews about a publication, not a link to that publication itself.
How to video
CSU Library Videos
How to search EBSCOhost databases
3 mins 52 secs, produced 2016
In the database window, login and try typing in –
[keywords/ ask them to type in keywords from topic analysis]
Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an
[insert topic] database, they should be more relevant to your topic. Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the
button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
Journals on Old Testament Studies