When thinking about journal articles, one measure of quality is to determine if the articles come from a peer reviewed journal. Watch this short video that explains what is meant by 'peer review'.
As you saw in the video, using Ulrichsweb is a trusted way to determine the peer review status of a journal. Let's try this now. Go to the Ulrichs Database and try searching for the journal title: The Journal of Higher Education. Can you see the referereed icon?
This is a comprehensive international directory of serials (journals) with all sorts of information about each one. It is important because you can use it to check if a journal is "refereed" (peer-reviewed).
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials (periodicals) published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are free or subscribed. The database includes hundreds of thousands of serials from more than 90,000 publishers.
You can search using Simple or Advanced Search. To search for a serial title as a phrase, enclose the words in double quotation marks. You results lists will show brief records in a table with columns for Title, Publisher, ISSN, Country, Status, Serial Type, and Format, and other columns marked by icons.
You can change the columns that are displayed in the table, by clicking on Change Columns in the top right corner of the table.
In your results list, click on the title of a serial to see the full record. This includes a wealth of information about the publication, in sections including Basic Description, Subject Classifications, Additional Title Details, Online Availability, Abstracting & Indexing Sources, and Full Text Sources.
You can use Ulrichsweb to check that a journal is peer-reviewed. When you search for a journal, your results list will include a column (third from left) marked by the icon of a basketball referees shirt. This column indicates the peer-reviewed status of the journal.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
