Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Honours Guide: Sources of Information

COMMONLY USED SOURCES

There are many different types of resources which might offer information on the topic you are researching, but you need to consider whether the source is scholarly or authoritative enough for research project:

Source type Use this resource to: Where to access this source:
Book/eBook
  • Get an overview, introduction, and/or background on a topic
  • Get in-depth information about a broad topic
Journal article
  • Get the best source of academic or scholarly information
  • Get highly relevant and subject specific information on your topic
  • Find citations and reference lists that will help you identify other important works on a subject.
Newspaper/Media
  • Investigate public attitudes to topics and issues
  • Get the latest information about new ideas or inventions in engineering.

Australian database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions.

 

A searchable database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video.

 

A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand

 

eVideos

Find current information

Get an overview, introduction, and/or background on a topic
Website

Locate reports and documents from government, academic, or professional organisations
Find background or introductory information

Familiarise yourself with the topic
  • See the Business Library Resource Guides for a list of reliable government, information sources and professional bodies.
  • Use Google Scholar to find academic or scholarly articles.
Grey Literature

Find relevant research information and data from governments or organisations that has not been commercially published.

Reference material

Find factual and statistical information on a topic
Get an overview of a subject
Find definitions

Use subject specific resources to decipher the "jargon" of your topic
Theses and dissertations

Locate other research on a similar topic
See how to format and present a thesis

  • CSU theses are held by the Library.
  • Electronic copies of theses from 2009 onwards are available in the CSU Research Output (CRO) repository as PDFs. CSU Library also subscribes to various theses and dissertation databases.
  • For more information about locating theses, go to the Library's Theses & Dissertations page.

 

Sources of Information

Searching in a database

Want to learn more about journal databases?

  • The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching. 
  • We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases.