Skip to Main Content

ASC101/ASC118 Research Skills Guide - OLD: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
Help you locate peer reviewed articles
Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Animal & Vet Sciences Databases will be particularly useful for your study.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.

Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.

Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.

The database is updated daily.

Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.

Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Searching in a database

Activity

In the database window, login and try typing in "dairy farms" AND "animal husbandry".

Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an Animal & Veterinary Sciences database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.