Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ASC262 Research Skills Guide: Publish

Guide for ASC 262 Veterinary Reproduction

Where to publish - finding the right journal

Finding the right journal to publish your research can be confusing. You want to publish in a high profile journal so that your research can be read widely. Some of the things you need to consider when selecting a journal to submit you paper  to include:

  • is the journal reputable and
  • does the journal publish articles on your topic? Scope and aim of the journal
  • is the journal indexed into major library databases? Is the journal discoverable?
  • Open access
  • Copyright

Copyright - things to consider if using other peoples work

In your manuscript you many need to use the work of others. If you use other researchers

  • text,
  • data
  • graphs
  • tables and illustrations
  • photographs

You will need to obtain permission from the original author or creator of the work.

When you have identified the copyright owner, write to them to ask for permission to use the material, detailing what you want to use, how you intend to use it and include a copy of the material.

Obtain permission in writing - email is fine, and keep copies of permissions gained. Ensure that the copyright owner knows if you intend to make the work open access.

Here is a link to a sample letter that you can use to draft your permission letter.

When you submit your manuscript to a publisher, the publisher will require you to sign an undertaking that you have obtained all relevant permissions to use work of others in your own work.

Journal relevance and rank

Is the journal relevant to your research audience?

Consider:

  • Do you have a story to tell and who do you want to tell?
  • Is your article adding to a conversation occurring in the journal?
  • Is the journal peer reviewed?  Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory lists peer reviewed journals in your discipline. It is useful if your research is cross disciplinary and you are not familiar with potential journals in related areas.
  • Where is the journal ranked in relation to other journals that publish in your topic area?

Useful links to explain the publishing process

The Guardian (2015) How to get published in an academic journal: top tips from editors. https://www.theguardian.com/education/2015/jan/03/how-to-get-published-in-an-academic-journal-top-tips-from-editors

Sage Publications (nd) How to get your journal article published. https://www.sagepub.com/sites/default/files/upm-binaries/63382_how_to_get_published.pdf

Publishing with Elsevier: Step by step

Journal discoverability

Discoverability

Is the journal:

  • Indexed in Scopus, Web of Science, CABI, ABI/Inform or another reputable database?  Non indexed journals are less visible to the international research community.
  • Included in the Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory? The Ulrichs directory will indicate the online availability of Journals in a range of scholarly databases.
  • Available full text online. Can the full text content be accessed by the intended audience?
  • Open Access? - see the Open Access guide.

More information

For more information please consult the Where to publish library guide

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.