Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NRS328 Research Skills Guide: ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database

Introduction to ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database

This database is available in the ProQuest platform and is a database of journals (including nearly 900 in full-text), articles, reference book chapters, training videos, multicultural reports, and study paths. As the name implies, it covers nursing and allied health.

If you wish to search a package of ProQuest health-related databases, you can use ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases.

Searching in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database

Nursing and Allied Health Database is similar to searching in CINAHL, but because it is in a different platform - the ProQuest platform - the look and feel of the searching, and some of the functionality, is different.

Here are some tips on searching in ProQuest:

When you access this database should get the Advanced Search screen. There are 2 lines of search but you can add extra lines ("Add a row").

Like Primo Search and EBSCOhost databases, ProQuest databases default to a keyword search.You don't need to put the AND operator between multiple search terms. If you want to search for a phrase, you should enclose it in double quotation marks.

By default, you will be searching in Anywhere except full text - ALL. This means that your search will be across all fields of the bibliographic record, but NOT in the full text (if there is any).

On the Advanced Search screen, there are a number of limiters, which you can apply at the time of searching. You can also refine the results of a search.

You can look up, and search by, MeSH terms, as well as by other subject headings, but you can't "map to" or "match" a MeSH term.

The proximity operator is NEAR/n, where n is the number you specify.

Many articles will be available in full-text. For articles that aren't available in full-text, click on the Find a Copy link to search for the article in other CSU databases.

You can do as much searching as you like, and return to the results later. To see previous searches, click on the clock (Recent Searches) icon at the top right of screen.

If you wish to permanently save articles and searches, or set up search alerts, you need a My Research account in ProQuest. Here's how to set it up:

  1. Click on the head-and-shoulders (My Research) icon at top right of screen
  2. Click on Sign in to My Research
  3. Click on the Create a My Research account link
  4. Follow the prompts and instructions to set up your My Research account.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.