Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BMS263 Research Skills Guide: MIMS ONLINE

An online tutorial to help with Assessment One in BMS263

WHAT IS MIMS ONLINE?

MIMS Online is an important Australian online resource for pharmaceuticals information. 
 

 

It contains both abbreviated prescribing information and full prescribing information. It also contains product images, and consumer medicines information (MIMS CMI).

MIMS Online has:

  • information on more than 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs
  • a pill ID module, where you can search for a tablet/capsule image
  • a Drug Interactions module, where you can identify drug interactions.
  • product images
  • consumer medicines information (CMI).

MIMS Online is available from CSU Library's list of Pharmacy databases.

USING MIMS ONLINE TO GET DRUG INFORMATION

Finding drug information

The Simple Search screen defaults to searching for Product Information. You can enter a product name, an action/indication, or a therapeutic class.

 

Other search modes include Pill ID, CMI, and Drug Interactions (see box below).

The Product Information Advanced Search gives you extra searching functionality.

 

Working with results

Each result is headed by the brand name, and includes links to:

  • full PI (Product Information), abbreviated PI, or CMI (Consumer Medicine Information)
  • drug interactions
  • other products with the same generic ingredient
  • other products in the same therapeutic class.

In MIMS Online Product Information search, a search for amoxycillin returns 61 results listed by brand name, with links to product and other information

USING MIMS ONLINE FOR DRUG-DRUG INTERACTIONS

Finding drug interactions

There are at least three ways to find information on drug-drug interactions.

1. In the box and the screen-shot above, we saw that a Product Info search result includes a link to information about Drug Interactions.

Simply click on that link to display a table of other drugs that interact with the drug you have found:

When you have searched for a drug from the Product Info tab, your result includes a link to "Drug Interactions"

See below for more.


2. On the Simple Search screen, the Drug Interactions tab allows you to search for any interactions between drugs.

Enter a drug name in the search box (remember it's probably best to use the generic name), and MIMS will produce a table that lists all the drugs that interact with it. [See screen-shot below.] The interacting drugs are in the column for Interacting Molecule and are listed using generic names. The table includes information on the Route of Administration (ROA) of each (interacting) drug, and brief information about the adverse effect and the severity level. Note that the lower the severity level number, the more severe the interaction.

You can filter the results by Severity Level or by Documentation Level.

The MIMS Drug Interactions results table lists the drugs that interact with the drug you have searched for, in the Interacting Molecule column.The table has basic information on the interaction and you can click on the name of an Interacting Molecule to get more details of the interaction.

At the results list, you can click on one of the Interacting Molecules (drugs) and display all the information about the interaction.


3. The Drug Interactions search mode provides another way to check for interactions between drugs. In this case, you can search for the interactions between more than two drugs:The MIMS Drug Interactions tab allows you to insert the names of different drugs and then click on the "Check interactions" button

  • Search for a drug as in 2. above
  • At the results list, click on the Add/Remove Drugs link which appears above the interaction results
  • On the Add/Remove Drugs screen, enter the name of a drug and click on Add
  • Enter the name of a second drug and click on Add
  • Continue to enter the names of drugs.
  • When ready, click on Check Interactions.

 

 


Working with results (drug interactions results)

As mentioned, the table of results gives brief information about the interaction between two drugs.

To get more detailed information, simply click on the interaction (ie click on that row in the table). The details screen has several elements including Adverse Effect and Probable Mechanism. There is also a list of References which you might have to explore.

The MIMS drug interaction detailed information screen includes information about severity, documentation level, probably mechanism, and action to be taken. It also includes References.

How would you find the articles listed in the references? By copying and pasting the article title into Primo Search.

ONLINE HELP FOR MIMS ONLINE

You can get help from the MIMS Online Help. If you access it from the database, it's context-sensitive, but has help screens on all aspects of using MIMS Online, and a left menu for navigation.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.