Hi. I'm Annette, your embedded librarian and I've created this guide to help you with your research for JST409.
Each section introduces the steps you should take when researching for an assessment. You'll find links to videos and resources that will give you the tools to find great information. Use the activities on the test your knowledge tab to see what you need to revise.
Getting started with your assessment
The first thing is to make sure you clearly understand the task and what topic you are seeking information for, this is called topic analysis. Check your assessment task details in your Subject Outline
With an understanding of your task you then need to plan how you will search for information. This starts with identifying and brainstorming keywords.
From your assessment task:
|Keywords||Synonyms or related terms|
|Golden hour||fast track actions, golden time|
|police||law enforcement, cops|
Does your task place any limits? These might be "in the last X years" or Australian content.
For guidance in topic analysis check out:
Choose the right place to search
Before you start searching, think about what types of information you need and where you can search to find those types of resources.
Primo Search is a good place to start as it allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of our Library collection including books, eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles and more. You may get a large number of results and some of these will be from outside your subject/discipline area. Check the content is relevant to your assessment task before you use it.
Databases will help you find academic resources and are often subject specific. You will get fewer results than Primo, but they will be more relevant to your subject/discipline.
I recommend trying the following database:
- ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Criminal Justice Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest interface. It covers research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
The Emergency Management, Policing & Public Safety list has more databases you can search.
Learn how to search efficiently in Primo and Library databases:
Searching the Internet can be a great place to search, but it can be overwhelming, and you need to be sure you're using the best sources.
Learn how to search the Internet effectively:
Create a search strategy
When you search using Primo Search or a library database use the keywords and limits you identified above to create your search. Combine the keywords with "search operators", rather than searching with a whole sentence or question. Search operators tell Primo or the database how to search with your keywords.
For your assessment topic potential search strings could include:
- investigations AND (police OR law enforcement)
- ("golden hour OR "golden time") AND investigations
Remember: you will need to try a range of searches. Don't stop after just one.
To understand how search operators work check out:
Using credible information will improve the quality of your assessment and may result in better marks, but how can you tell whether the resources you've found are credible and suitable for your assessment? Have you been asked to use peer reviewed, academic or refereed articles? Are you using authoritative websites?
The information below will help you evaluate the information you find, in books, journal articles, or online to make sure it’s reliable.
Reading, writing and referencing
The Academic Skills team help you build your writing, referencing and reading skills to be successful at Uni.
Check out their support and resources under Learning Skills in the Student Portal.
Here are some pages to get you started:
We'd love your feedback!
Complete our 2 min survey to let us know what you think of this guide.
Watch these videos for an overview of the library services and how to search for information.