Resources for Assessment 2: Research Proposal
Before diving into Assessment item 2: Research Proposal, it is essential that you closely read your Subject Outline, available via your subject site, and understand the task requirements.
The subject outline also refers you to Chapter 4 and Chapter 19 of your textbook:
-
Research for social workers: An introduction to methods
by
Publication Date: 2018
After checking you understand the assessment requirements, use this tabbed box to see useful library resources for key steps throughout the task. You will need to find additional resources yourself, but these suggestions will help you get started.
-
Defining a topicFrom the Sage Research Methods database 'project planner'.
-
Developing a researchable questionFrom the Sage Research Methods 'project planner'.
-
Database search: Research questionResults from Sage Research Methods search for: research AND question, filtered by discipline for 'social work'. Over 2,000 results and many types of resources for you to choose from, including videos, books, and more.
-
Define your key terms: Human services & social work recommended resourcesUse the 'dictionaries and encyclopedias' from left side pane of this library guide, 'Human services & social work' to help define any key terms in your review.
-
Reviewing the literatureAn overview, from the Sage Research Methods database 'project planner'.
-
Library guide: Traditional or narrative literature reviewsA library guide on writing a traditional narrative or literature review, including links to other resources and a useful short video.
-
Research designFrom the Sage Research Methods database 'project planner'.
-
Data collection - Methods mapQuick definition of data collection and visual links to a variety of methods. From the Sage Research Methods 'methods map'.
-
Data collection - Project plannerFrom the Sage Research Methods 'project planner'. More in-depth than the 'methods map' overview linked above.
Methods Map
The Methods Map, from the Sage Research Methods database, is a visualisation tool to help you understand how different research terms are related. I recommend it for Assessment item 1 to help identify qualitative versus quantitative methods.
How to use:
- A definition of the term you are viewing appears in the central circle, along with a link to more content in the top box.
- Broader terms appear to the left, and narrower terms to the right, so you can explore related concepts.
For example, to find different types of quantitative research:
- Choose data collection from the narrower terms listed to the right;
- click quantitative data collection;
- select a method from those quantitative data collection methods listed.
If you already have a research term in mind, use the search bar at the top of the page, highlighted in the screenshot below:
Sage Research Methods Overview
Watch the video for a quick introduction to one of the most useful databases for HCS204, the Sage Research Methods database.
Note: The Sage platform has recently changed a little in appearance, but still has all the same great functions.
Project Planner
The Project Planner, also available in the Sage Research Methods database, is a step-by-step guide for designing and conducting research. Written in an instructional, checklist format, it's particularly useful for Assessment 2. Access is under the 'Tools' dropdown menu in the Sage database, or via the link below:
Contact us
- Call: 1800 275 278
- Online chat
- Email us
- Book an appointment
