The Library has compiled the First Nations Knowledges Collection to emphasise the importance and ongoing contributions of Australian First Nations knowledges in our society. The collection contains works of literature, including children's literature, textbooks, kits, films and language resources. The Library responsibly shares this knowledge to provide Charles Sturt students and academics with the best resources to use in their study, research, curriculum evaluation and development. To allow greater access to this important information the Library chooses online versions of titles whenever possible for this collection.

The collection includes titles by and about First Nations peoples and communities that reflect Charles Sturt University's areas of teaching and research, including education, languages, sciences, health, culture, heritage, Dreaming, arts, literature, policy, law, justice and equity.

You can enter the First Nations Knowledges Collection from the Charles Sturt Library Collections page in Primo Search, or jump into and search one of the specially curated sub-collections from these links:

• Education, Language resources and Research
• Sciences and Health
• Culture, Heritage and Dreaming
• Arts and Literature
• Policy, Law, Justice and Equity

You can search for resources by and about First Nations peoples within Primo Search. When searching within Primo Search it's best to structure your search using keywords, search operators, or search strings such as:

• (Aborigin* OR Indigenous OR First Nations OR Torres Strait Islander) AND Australia 

For best results, refine your search using the First Nations Knowledges Collection filters on the left-hand side of your results list.

For more information on using search operators like OR, AND, *, or brackets, please check out our Primo Search help library guide.

A new sub-collection called the First Nations Uluru Statement from the Heart has been created to highlight resources providing reliable information on this important statement from First Nations peoples. Resources in this sub-collection are authored by both First Nations and non-First Nations people, and have been evaluated for reliability, authority and purpose.

• Is the publication date within the last 10 years? Older items will be considered if requested for a particular reason by an academic, student, or researcher.
• Has the resource been authored by or with First Nations peoples?
• Did First Nations peoples contribute to the resource and are their contributions acknowledged, e.g. for edited books?
• Has the material been endorsed by local, regional, state or territory First Nation’s groups or Elders?
• Do the photographs and artworks used in the resource name the language group or designer who created them?
• Were First Nations people consulted regarding the use of imagery, artworks, or design?
• Does the resource respect the differences between First Nations and Western knowledges and pedagogies?
• Is the language and terminology used in the resource appropriate, or have outdated terms been used?
• Does the resource contextualise First Nations cultures as diverse, living, dynamic, or changing cultures?

The Library welcomes all suggestions for new titles to be added to this collection, and encourages feedback if you have any concerns about items in the collection. Please contact us with any suggestions or concerns you have regarding the First Nations Knowledges Collection.